Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I LOVE sweets, but this was like eating sugar coated sugar. WAY too sweet! I will continue looking elsewhere for the perfect frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Terrific! Will never use canned again. This is easy and delicious. I did use salted butter because it is all I had in the house. It still tasted great. I creamed the butter and then added the powdered sugar and vanilla. I used a bit extra vanilla. Then after everything was mixed I added milk to get it to the consistency I wanted. Ended up using very little milk. I doubled the recipe and only used 1 tablespoon. Partly because of the extra vanilla I am sure and I wanted it a little stiffer. The recipe doubled allowed me to frost my 9 x 13 cake and have extra to pipe with. This frosting was excellent for piping! Definitely recommend. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very easy to make! Definitely double the recipe as it didn't make a lot. Used it for Karin's 40th birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
was too runny when i added 2 tablespoons of milk.i had to fix it by adding more sugar.next time i will just add less milk.tastes very good though =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is the same recipe that I have been using for 50 + years from my mother's Betty Crocker cookbook. When I want chocolate frosting I just add cocoa powder. I have never tried using it as my decorator frosting but now that I know other's have used it for decorating, I will try it. It's a lot easier to remember how to make this than regular decorator frosting using Crisco (which I don't keep around any more.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This icing was pretty good. I used it on snickerdoodle cupcakes and threw in (a little too much) cinnamon sugar and it was very light but very sweet(probably due to the cinnamon sugar). Next time I will mix mine more and use a little less milk because it was not as fluffy as I had liked. I love that it uses all butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mocrosby
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is my favorite buttercream frosting. It's simple to make and never fails. I follow the recipe exactly except I sometimes add a little extra vanilla or sugar. I most recently used this to frost Red Velvet Cupcakes from this site (the recipe that uses instant chocolate pudding) and it was perfect for piping on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocrosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Tastes amazing - but the butter separated after I added my colouring. I am thinking I over whipped it, but will try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
THE BEST!!!! I've never liked buttercream frosting because it's usually too sweet and greasy tasting for me, but this is absolutely MARVELOUS! Not too sweet, delicate flavor, and light. This is now my recipe to cover all upcoming birthday cakes. No more canned frosting for me. There is no comparison between the two. If frosting 3 dozen cookies, 4 servings of frosting is about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I looked high and low for a buttercream recipe without shortening. This one is perfection. Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States