Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I used this for my kids' birthday cake and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe as it was a pretty big cake. It is quite sweet so I don't recommend frosting the cake with a heavy hand. I just used enough to cover the cake with an additional 1/4". Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Great for decorating. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Just like my Grammy used to make! I did double the recipe, which worked out fine. As is, it is great for straight frosting. For piping, I do recommend tossing it in the fridge for 30 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIHEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This icing was fantastic tasting and it had no after taste like using shortening can leave. It might not be the best as far as having that 100% perfect wedding icing look but it gets the job done. It's great for piping swirls, grass/hair, etc but it looked just ok on the practice roses. Maybe others can have better luck making really good roses with this but we didn't. Thankfully, we didn't need roses. We used this to pipe a swirly cone on the cupcakes and then topped the cupcakes with a fondant flower. We also used this recipe as a crumb icing for the fondant covered belly cake my sister made. The difference was, for the crumb icing, the recipe was made exactly as called for. For piping, I made 2 batches of this recipe w/o any milk at all. For one, I left white. For the other, I added 1/4 packet of Duncan Hines Frosting Creations Strawberry Shortcake flavor and a little red coloring to make it a little more pink. I then put pink on one side of the piping bag and white on the other and swirled the two-tones icing onto the cupcakes. It would have been a lot easier had I used two separate bags & stuck them inside one bag than trying to get the 2 colors to go down one bag evenly. I had icing all over me but it got the job done. The two tone color was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elisa
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
First time making frosting and it was all a success! I am not a big fan of buttercream, and neither is my husband, but this one we all loved. My child cannot have enough. And my husband and I are for the first time interested in the frosting! (I don't know if this is good or not for us, but definitely says a lot about the frosting.) My tweaks: I made this with MARGARINE (salted, in sticks), and I cannot imagine the result getting better. I halfed the milk (1Tsp). This recipe frosts 12 cupcakes (without piping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Excellent with no modification, and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this buttercream as a tester for an upcoming wedding cake. Everyone, and I mean everyone loved it! I'm so excited to use it in the wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Love that it doesn't have shortening. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great Job - thanks for sharing this tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I was a little disappointed with this icing when I first made it. It was good and easy, but there was just a little lacking in terms of flavor. I made it again and this time used salted butter instead of unsalted (as a previous reviewer suggested), doubled the vanilla (previous reviewer again), and used evaporated milk (next time I might try cream, but I didn't have that on hand) instead of regular milk. I used extra sugar to compensate for the extra vanilla and the thin texture it had the first time (don't want to reduce the milk because I needed every drop of frosting) and it was perfect. I doubled the recipe and it was just enough to frost a 3-layer cake. I'm giving the original recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States