Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Not sure if it was me or the recipe, I'm assuming I did something wrong. I made it according to the recipe instructions and put it in a piping bag. First 1/4 cup or so came out so running, I couldn't even make a shell border. Then I couldn't squeeze hard enough to get the "hard" icing out. I'm talking stiff as a board! I also found it rather gritty and VERY sweet. I will stick to my regular buttercream recipe next time. The only reason I used this one, is because I didn't make enough of my own and didn't have more high-ratio shortening to make more. I won't use this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Delicious! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This worked out perfectly for baby shower cupcakes! Quick, easy, tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
fantastic, easy, quick, and perfect for piping or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was incredible! I've never made frosting before. This was easy and soooo good. I got tons of compliments on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Spong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
this recipe saved the day! i originally found another butter cream recipe on this site but it turned out like doughnut glaze. and so, i continued to venture through pages of butter cream recipes that had a good star rating and were simple enough. finally, i found this recipe. it was almost perfect! smooth, thick, and not too buttery. :) i will be using this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Easy, fast and good. Very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very good! I have used this for several occassions and have received compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I added a 1/3 cup of baking cocoa to make chocolate. Very awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is quickly becoming my go-to frosting recipe. The first several times I made it was just for cupcakes and I had enough to frost an entire batch, but I rarely get 24 cupcakes out of a box mix. I just recently used it for my husband's birthday cake and to be safe I doubled the recipe and also added 1 cup of sifted cocoa powder. It made a large amount - plenty to generously frost a 9x13 cake with about 1 cup left over, so I expect for a layer cake it would be just about right. Amazingly, it doesn't get too thick with the extra dry ingredients...even with a single batch adding in 2/3 cups cocoa powder (as suggested by another reviewer). Flavor is overall very good - not too sweet, but you must use REAL butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States