Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great recipe, thanks! Took me all these years to find this kind of frosting. I always thought cream cheese frosting was the way to go and also always failed at it -- like soup, melting, too sweet, various methods to try and fix it. Sigh. Anyway, for this recipe, I only used a teaspoon of extract. To compensate, I added a tad bit of vanilla sugar. Also, didn't have a sifter so ran powdered sugar through small metal strainer with spoon. Oops yeah, I also doubled the butter to 1 cup. Turned out perfectly! My daughter and her school friends scarfed them down. I am STILL trying to resist the very few leftovers. :) Generously covered 24 cupcakes by doubling butter and it was gorgeous, very professional frosting like. p.s Only put 4 stars because I had to change it to really love it. Good basics though -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was so well received! I doubled the recipe just fine to frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very good icing and perfect to pipe on cupcakes. The consistency was just right to pipe easily but hold its shape once on the cupcake. As others have said, a single recipe is barely enough for 9-10 cupcakes so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I love this frosting! It taste so good and is still easy to decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Needed a bit more milk, but pipes out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KirstenL528
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Delicious and easy to work with! My first time piping cupcakes turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
perfect and delicious i added cocoa powder to it like a review said to do to make chocolate it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Excellent. I tinted this recipe green and unlike other buttercreams that "break" this one held up beautifully. And I love that it is an all-butter recipe and does not include shortening. I think it needs to be refrigerated since it is all butter. I only had buttermilk on hand and it worked out fine. It piped like a dream onto cupcakes. This yielded enough to frost 12 cupcakes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was really good, not too sweet and very creamy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I used this for a wedding cake and cupcakes, and got so many complements on it. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States