Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This icing was amazing! It was so smooth and creamy. There were no lumps at all. The icing was fluffy and piped onto the cupcakes very well. I will be making this again very soon. Can't wait to try it on a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. I've used it to make a princess dress cake with all sorts of piping and flowers and it held up beautifully. It has a great flavor. Like many have said, watch your amounts depending on what you are using it for. I did change the serving size to 20 when making cupcakes. It generously frosted 35 cupcakes with the frosting being piped on. Thanks for a great recipe! I don't know why anyone would use store bought when this is so easy and sooooooo much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
It's perfect just as written. Great texture and it's not too sweet. It's going to be my go-to icing recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This buttercream was amazing!!! I doubled the recipe to frost a layered cake. I would add the milk a tablespoon at a time till you got your desired consistency. I also added 3/4 cup cocoa to a doubled batch, SO GOOD! This is my new go to recipe for buttercream icing and chocolate buttercream icing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mchristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was the first time I made buttercream frosting & came out very good, will never buy frosting from store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Not sure if it was me or the recipe, I'm assuming I did something wrong. I made it according to the recipe instructions and put it in a piping bag. First 1/4 cup or so came out so running, I couldn't even make a shell border. Then I couldn't squeeze hard enough to get the "hard" icing out. I'm talking stiff as a board! I also found it rather gritty and VERY sweet. I will stick to my regular buttercream recipe next time. The only reason I used this one, is because I didn't make enough of my own and didn't have more high-ratio shortening to make more. I won't use this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Delicious! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This worked out perfectly for baby shower cupcakes! Quick, easy, tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
fantastic, easy, quick, and perfect for piping or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was incredible! I've never made frosting before. This was easy and soooo good. I got tons of compliments on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Spong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States