Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have made this several times and I've been happy. Yesterday hubby bought margarine instead of butter so I had to go with it. Runny goopy mess! *You must use butter on this* or it will separate and if you put it on cake/cupcakes it will just run off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Smith Johns

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Tasted great, but it was impossible to use for piping. If you add any food coloring, it becomes really runny and just slides right off the cake. I added almost 2 cups of confectioners sugar in addition to what the recipe called for to try and thicken it up, and I still wound up scraping it all off the cake and starting over with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Super tasty and really easy. I gave it 4 stars because it didn't fluff up as expected but that could be due to the fact that I mixed by hand instead of an electric mixer. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This by far the best buttercream that I've ran across. I did tweek it some and substitute eggnog for the milk and add 2 oz cream cheese. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great great buttercream recipe, taste just like our local bakery's buttercream! I use it for filling and icing cakes and it stands up perfectly. I always add pecans to it for the filling and get complimented on it every time I make this icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome frosting!!! I needed a frosting for sugar cookies, and I needed it in a hurry. This was so good,even my 4 year old loved it. And, it worked out great! Will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Best Buttercream icing I ever had. This is real buttercream! Mmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Perfect easy Icing! Love it just needs to be refrigerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect! Easy to work with, and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Verry easy to make and it went perfect with a rainbow cake I made with my kids! I added about 1 cup of cream cheese for a bit more flavor and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States