Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Everyone raved about it! I had to double it to have enough for my double-layer cake, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It looks good...but it tastes horrendous. I tried making it exactly as the recipe called for and it just tasted like biting into a stick of butter with a weird powdered sugar aftertaste. I used organic butter & Domino's cane sugar confectioner's sugar. Yuck! Then I tried making a 2nd batch with tips from reviews-- making sure to really cream the butter and sugar, and then beating it for longer. I tried extra vanilla. I tried it with condensed milk. I tried toying with the ratios. I tried adding salt to cut the sweetness. I tried adding hot condensed milk to cook the sugar. I even tried adding flour as some people suggested. Nothing could save this. No experienced baker would use this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemmeh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Simple and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my first attempt to decorate a cake. Typically, I use cream cheese icing and never decorate the cake. My grandson's first birthday is coming up so here I go. Found this recipe and my daughter liked the taste. We tried our first two small cakes and it was not a disaster and the icing actually tasted good, which was a surprise to us! We plan to go pick up food coloring and make his cake this week. It's a smash cake so we don't expect it to be perfect. Thank you so very much for this recipe. Because of this recipe, I may continue to attempt to decorate cakes. Like other reviewers, you will need to add extra conf. sugar to make sure it's thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good basic reminder. We have used a very similar for various flavors and add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrzis SoCerus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
What an amazing recipe... I tried to frost my cake more than once, the only problem I had is that i m still feeling sugar crumbs when I taste it, what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
It works great for flowers and decorations I added 1/4 teaspoon of Argo cornstarch for bulk for decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Conn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vanderbilt, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dawson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a perfect vanilla buttercream frosting. Used all butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Best ever! To die for! Don't change a thing. Double the recipe for two 9" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good! I add 1-2 tbsp of cream cheese, not really enough to taste like a cream cheese icing, just enough to add to the creaminess. I used a little extra milk to make it almost a drizzle consistency for cinnamon rolls. Recipe is also delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States