Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I used this for a wedding cake and cupcakes, and got so many complements on it. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Hi. I have not actually tried this recipe but it looks really ood and i would like to know if it can go on anything?!?!?!!? Even dumb old Mom cookies?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SORRY I AM SO PERKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Perfect for frosting a birthday cake. Make sure you freeze the cake first. If you are cutting shapes, spread a first thin layer, let the icing harden (the beauty of real butter!!!) and then, spread another layer to hide any crumbs. MUCH much tastier than royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I don't make frosting, it always tastes nasty and chemically on detour bought cakes so I thought I didn't like it. Surprise!! This is actually good and easy! Thanks! My banana cake thanks you. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was very simple and tasty! I used it both to cover a cake and pipe a design on it. I had lots for one round one-layer cake and for licking the bowl ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Everyone raved about it! I had to double it to have enough for my double-layer cake, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It looks good...but it tastes horrendous. I tried making it exactly as the recipe called for and it just tasted like biting into a stick of butter with a weird powdered sugar aftertaste. I used organic butter & Domino's cane sugar confectioner's sugar. Yuck! Then I tried making a 2nd batch with tips from reviews-- making sure to really cream the butter and sugar, and then beating it for longer. I tried extra vanilla. I tried it with condensed milk. I tried toying with the ratios. I tried adding salt to cut the sweetness. I tried adding hot condensed milk to cook the sNo experienced baker would use this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemmeh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Simple and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my first attempt to decorate a cake. Typically, I use cream cheese icing and never decorate the cake. My grandson's first birthday is coming up so here I go. Found this recipe and my daughter liked the taste. We tried our first two small cakes and it was not a disaster and the icing actually tasted good, which was a surprise to us! We plan to go pick up food coloring and make his cake this week. It's a smash cake so we don't expect it to be perfect. Thank you so very much for this recipe. Because of this recipe, I may continue to attempt to decorate cakes. Like other reviewers, you will need to add extra conf. sugar to make sure it's thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good basic reminder. We have used a very similar for various flavors and add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrzis SoCerus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States