Quick Ziti with Swiss Cheese and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
We all loved this - the melted stringy swiss cheese is great. I added bite size steamed asparagus to make it a one dish meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Perfect for picky eaters. My kids destroyed this dish!! I did make some modifications to give it some flavor, here is what I did: sauté garlic and finely chopped onions in olive oil, then add ham. Once the pasta is done drain and mix in 2-3 tablespoons of butter (this helps the cheese). Then add the Swiss, mozzarella and provolone (shredded). For the adults I sautéd asparagus and broccoli, with onion salt in the garlic/onion/olive oil mixture that's above (in another pan). I tossed the veggie mixture with the pasta for my husband and I. Everyone was happy and it really was a fast and easy dinner. Recommend you make twice as much, we had none left over for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
wonderfully cheesy! I loved the stringiness the hot cheese has. yummos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Simple and tasty! I used whole wheat penne. I chopped leftover ham and grated extra sharp cheddar (also a leftover). I added finely chopped onion to the ham and cooked both in a little oil. I served it with a green salad. A simple, post-holidays meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
QUICK! Great way to use up some leftover ham! Hubby said its a keeper and surprizingly "Filling". I had some leftover Green beans to add for color....did add diced onions, used the cellaphane swiss but added some fresh picarino parmesan into it...It smelled so great cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
i thought this was really great. we used leftover ham from easter weekend and it was very good. taking advice from other reviewers, i also added some red pepper flakes and garlic, it was so good! i also added leftover asparagus that had been baked in the oven the day before in olive oil, and it complemented the dish nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
VERY EASY. As a mother of a 6 month old I'm always looking for quick meals. I put milk and swiss cheese in with the ham after I cooked the meat, let it melt, then added some pepper and rosemary and then the mixture in with the noodles. Served with Asparagus. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe for getting rid of holiday ham! I have a big family so I doubled everything. Took some advice from other reviews and melted the swiss cheese with some milk first then poured it over the pasta when it was complete. I also took my fathers advice and added some pepperoni. Adds a lot of spice and made it more like a meat lovers pasta. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This dish was amazing! Yesterday was my older brother's birthday, a HUGE cheese and ham lover. When I made this,I added mozzarella and provolone. When frying the ham I used butter, I added half a diced onion, chopped broccoli, and some garlic. When mixing the ingredients, I added some milk and sour cream to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is an extremely easy and tasty way to use up that extra holiday ham. I only gave it 4 stars because I changed a few things based on other reviews. I sliced the ham before I cooked it and added some garlic while frying it. After tossing it a couple of minutes in the oil, I added a little water (maybe 1/3 cup) then covered the pan with a lid. I did this so it would continue to heat the ham by steam and not burn or need additional oil, it also allows you to not have to constantly stir or flip the ham. I then drained it prior to adding to the pasta. I added shredded swiss cheese and steamed broccoli for some color. I topped the dish with crushed red pepper flakes. It was very yummy, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States