Quick Ziti with Swiss Cheese and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is an extremely easy and tasty way to use up that extra holiday ham. I only gave it 4 stars because I changed a few things based on other reviews. I sliced the ham before I cooked it and added some garlic while frying it. After tossing it a couple of minutes in the oil, I added a little water (maybe 1/3 cup) then covered the pan with a lid. I did this so it would continue to heat the ham by steam and not burn or need additional oil, it also allows you to not have to constantly stir or flip the ham. I then drained it prior to adding to the pasta. I added shredded swiss cheese and steamed broccoli for some color. I topped the dish with crushed red pepper flakes. It was very yummy, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
i thought this was really great. we used leftover ham from easter weekend and it was very good. taking advice from other reviewers, i also added some red pepper flakes and garlic, it was so good! i also added leftover asparagus that had been baked in the oven the day before in olive oil, and it complemented the dish nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was actually pretty good! I had a little trouble getting the cheese to melt and I cut it up reallly small and seperated each piece when putting it in the pan. I did add some butter while melting the cheese because it was kind of dry, maybe using some of the water from boiling the pasta would help. I have a ton of deli sliced ham to use up so this was a great easy recipe for that purpose!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Ive tried this two ways. 1.. following the recipe and 2... my way. I added red pepper flakes, and garlic. Gives it a little kick, and wakes up the Swiss cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This made for a wonderful "in a hurry" dinner for my family. My kids were a bit leery about the way it looked, but loved it after one bite. I have been told that this recipe is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
QUICK! Great way to use up some leftover ham! Hubby said its a keeper and surprizingly "Filling". I had some leftover Green beans to add for color....did add diced onions, used the cellaphane swiss but added some fresh picarino parmesan into it...It smelled so great cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I added 3 pats of butter to the pasta to give it a nice gloss. I also used the cheese I had on hand: about 1 cup of shredded cheddar-jack and 5 slices of swiss. I also added about 1/4 cup of parmesan. But is still needed something else... I added alot of ground pepper, but was reluctant to add salt with the salty parmesan and the ham. If I didn't get a bite with ham in it, it was somewhat bland. I did add about 1 cup of frozen peas to give it some color and to make it a true one-pot meal. My husband loved it, but added alot of cayenne pepper to the top of his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a tasty, quick dinner using ingredients I already had on hand, but I agree with the others that it was a little bland. I added a little cooked onion, and a few dashes on hot sauce, but is still needed...something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
We all loved this - the melted stringy swiss cheese is great. I added bite size steamed asparagus to make it a one dish meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I loved how quick and easy this was, but also thought it was bland. I assume the recipe didn't call for salt or any other seasoning because the ham should be salty enough. Instead of Swiss I would try some sort of bagged shredded cheese to save the step of dicing the Swiss. I would also add some sort of veggie, like chopped broccoli. In this case I had to add some milk because it looked so dry and dumped a bunch of different seasonings, like salt, pepper, Mrs. Dash and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States