Quick Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I hate it when people give less than 5 stars when they didn't FOLLOW THE RECIPE!!! Mine just came out of the oven and they were perfect!! They are airy, spongy, light, and a little sweet! There is no need to add more flour, so don't read other reviews and automatically add tons more flour. I added a little to the spoon as I was putting them into the muffin tins but that's it! If you add a cup or more of flour, of course you're going to have more dense rolls!! Stick to the recipe and you'll get good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1041 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I am a professional pastry chef. I don't specialize in bread but rather sweets so when it came to dinner tonight and our standard loaf of bread in the kitchen had gone moldy I was scrambling to find a quick yeast bread to put on the plate next to my stuffed pork loin. I found this and boy am I glad I did!!! What an easy recipe and SO tasty for the tiny effort they took. The other reviews that state that the dough was " too sticky" simply did not know that this kind of quick yeast dough is supposed to be a gloppy mess before they bake. When you mix this stuff up in the bowl it will look like very sticky cake batter....that's fine, don't freak out. Just let it rise as stated and when you SCOOP it into the muffin tin after the first rise use a large scoop. yes, will still be very gloppy but still continue on. Let them rise a second time and then bake as stated. Mine were a golden brown on top and so buttery on the inside. Stick with the recipe JUST AS WRITTEN and don't worry that you can't kneed this dough...it's not that kind of dough. You will be richly rewarded if you try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
445 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Oh my goodness!!! These are the best rolls I've ever made! I've never been able to make rolls, until now. My husband and I ate every one BEFORE they made it to the dinner table. I did have to make some adjustments, but they came out wonderful! I had to add a little more flour because the dough was too wet and I used margarine instead of shortening because I was out of shortening. They still came out great! I let them rise about an hour, then rolled them in 2 inch balls in a 9x13 pan instead of a muffin tin. They came out kind of square shaped and I just pulled them apart very easily. I am making them again today, and doubling the recipe!! Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe that I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
YUM! These were easy to make. I did worry a little about how the dough was so sticky, but I went ahead with the recipe as-is. They turned out great. It was a little hard getting the dough in the muffin cups, but that was the only problem. Don't let them rise TOO much in the muffin cups as they will rise a good bit in the oven while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I have been using this recipe weekly to make hamburger/sandwich buns. The dough stays sticky and wet throughout the process- I don't even worry about the usual process of shaping into a ball and greasing with oil before it rises- I just knead it with the dough hook on the Kitchenaid and then just leave it all sticky in the bowl to rise. It works out fine every time. When I have added extra flour to thicken the dough up a bit, it tends to produce a heavier/more dense roll. I substitute butter for the shortening, maple syrup for the sugar (when I remember to do so, I try to cut back on the water a little bit to accommodate the extra liquid) and I use home-milled whole wheat flour for all of the white flour called for. We eat them all the time and I have even begun giving them out to neighbors and friends each week as they are requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Didn't have any shortening so I used bacon fat, no sugar so I used molases, in a hurry so I used cold water, no yeast....used baking powder, only had a hard boiled egg, tried some garlic salt, no AP flour so I had to use corn meal. Didn't come out anything like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I loved this recipe. Still, I made a few adjustments. Along with the 2 T. of shortening I added 2 T. butter. I also increased the sugar to 1/2 c. and the flour to 2 1/2 c. Absolutely wonderful! I ate three as soon as they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pallar25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
A really great recipe...I ended up spooning them out on a small, round cake pan (all smushed together with sides touching) and they still came out great! They tasted like the pull-apart yeast rolls that you can find in your grocer's freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I can't imagine why the raves; the proportions were so off on this recipe that I might as well have rewritten them; the dough was too sticky to work with in even shaping balls to go into the muffin tin; I probably added 3/4 cup flour, which in turn made 12 rolls. I made these rolls again with my own changes and they were much better. I substituted 3 tablespoons honey for the sugar, reduced the water to 2/3 cup; made it with 1-3/4 cups whole wheat flour and 3/4 cups white flour (as per the suggestion of another reviewer); this made the outcome perfect. I would suggest reducing the water to 2/3 cup to make the dough less sticky and easy to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was the first time for me to try the daunting task of cooking with yeast and I couldn't have tried a better recipe! These came out AMAZING! It was even more amazing considering my oven was on the fritz and I had to bake them in the toaster oven. I also put them in a pan and they became awesome tear apart buns. My husband loved these! He ate most of them and then while I was relaxing two days later he says " I think you should make more of those buns". I will definitely add more flour next time (dough was a little too sticky)and I guess I too will have to double the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States