Quick Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this tonight & loved it!! It does have a marshmallow taste, so I added powdered sugar & more vanilla extract. It DOES thicken up, it just takes a LONG time! It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I did not appreciate this recipe because it is like meringues. It dissolves in your mouth and so you cannot really taste it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Have made the 7 minute boiled frosting for many years, but never again!!! This was fantastic! Definitely a marshmallow frosting, but that's what it is. Those of you who it didn't thicken up for, maybe you got some yolk in with the whites, or the bowl was oily. I'm guessing. It went together so easily I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The first time I tried this it worked wonderfully, but the second time, I couldn't get it to thicken to save my life! so I put powdered sugar in it until it thickened, and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
It was good but with a little bit more vanilla and a sprinkle of suger!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wish I would've read the reviews!!! The taste is yummy, but it's SOOO runny! I even beat it for 10 minutes AND added powdered sugar to try to thicken it up. I will definitely use it for marshmallow fluff, but it was a fail for my cupcakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
i think if you do this and add powder sugar or marsh mellow it will get thicker if you do it for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Was really liquidy so I just worked with it... poured it over the cake then refriderated it perfect if you work with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have to admit after reading a few reviews I was worried about trying this one but since I had plenty of time for redos I went with it & I am so happy I did because it's a new fav. for me! I think the title is getting a few people its more of a "fluff" than a frosting but looking at the photo you can pretty much see that. It's just what I was looking for, not overly sweet & "heavy" I'm usually that person scraping the frosting in the trash but with this I was the one scraping my plate to eat every last bite. I have tried with vanilla & with almond. I plan on trying with different extracts as I need it such as banana & rootbeer for my rootbeer loving husband! Great recipe thanks for sharing! For those who said it was watery & soaked into their cakes I don't know what happened but mine was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Songer
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States