Quick Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I used a multigrain bread and like another writer used the Thousand Island dressing. Realized I was out of Hot sauce...OMG!... so I used some Cayenne Pepper. Got the heat I was looking for. A slice of red onion and spinach... its all good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I have been eating tomato sandwiches for many years. I tried this mayo/ketchup combo and it just didn't work for me. I will stick with plain mayo. I often will put sliced cucumber on the sandwich too. Doubly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I first had a toasted tomato sandwich in a coffee house in Dunedin, New Zealand in 1959. Brings back fond memories. As good then as now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The hot pepper sauce is what makes this a great little sandwich! liked the ketchup mayo combo too! Nice and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is great for a quick lunch -especially if you're using fresh tomatoes from the garden! I was a bit skeptical about the ketchup/mayo mixture but gave it a try anyway. It wan't bad, but I think I'll stick to my old stand by of just a simple slathering of light mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good... like a BLT, minus the B. I used spinach leaves instead of lettuce, like another reviewer. I'm pretty lax in getting my veggies, so I took advantage of this. updated: I substituted the lettuce/spinach for cucumber slices and added extra hot sauce and pepper. Also used celery salt instead of regular salt, to go for sort of a "Bloody Mary" sandwich. I liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Nothing incredibly exciting but it makes for a good quick snack or light lunch with something on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was surprisingly zesty, and made a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was a great midnight snack just now. Had it on white bread, and was feeling ultra-lazy so skipped the lettuce. My extremely dumbed-down version was STILL good enough for 4 stars, and I'm sure it will be even better the way it's written, so 5 it gets. :) Also, I see much experimentation with this tasty sauce in my future.. will go great on an endless array of sandwiches, such as in a grilled cheese or a roast beef wrap, or maybe even as a dipping sauce for shrimp. I dunno, gonna play with it. Thanks a mill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This sandwich has a really nice tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States