Quick Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Made this for my daughter for breakfast, but added an egg (fits perfectly when cooked in a bowl in the microwave) to the sandwich. She really liked. Did not put salt in the sauce, but did put a little on the tomato slices. I don't like tomato so I just used the sauce and put my egg on the sandwich with a little cheese and real bacon bits. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I used a multigrain bread and like another writer used the Thousand Island dressing. Realized I was out of Hot sauce...OMG!... so I used some Cayenne Pepper. Got the heat I was looking for. A slice of red onion and spinach... its all good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I have been eating tomato sandwiches for many years. I tried this mayo/ketchup combo and it just didn't work for me. I will stick with plain mayo. I often will put sliced cucumber on the sandwich too. Doubly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I first had a toasted tomato sandwich in a coffee house in Dunedin, New Zealand in 1959. Brings back fond memories. As good then as now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The hot pepper sauce is what makes this a great little sandwich! liked the ketchup mayo combo too! Nice and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is great for a quick lunch -especially if you're using fresh tomatoes from the garden! I was a bit skeptical about the ketchup/mayo mixture but gave it a try anyway. It wan't bad, but I think I'll stick to my old stand by of just a simple slathering of light mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good... like a BLT, minus the B. I used spinach leaves instead of lettuce, like another reviewer. I'm pretty lax in getting my veggies, so I took advantage of this. updated: I substituted the lettuce/spinach for cucumber slices and added extra hot sauce and pepper. Also used celery salt instead of regular salt, to go for sort of a "Bloody Mary" sandwich. I liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Nothing incredibly exciting but it makes for a good quick snack or light lunch with something on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was surprisingly zesty, and made a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was a great midnight snack just now. Had it on white bread, and was feeling ultra-lazy so skipped the lettuce. My extremely dumbed-down version was STILL good enough for 4 stars, and I'm sure it will be even better the way it's written, so 5 it gets. :) Also, I see much experimentation with this tasty sauce in my future.. will go great on an endless array of sandwiches, such as in a grilled cheese or a roast beef wrap, or maybe even as a dipping sauce for shrimp. I dunno, gonna play with it. Thanks a mill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States