Quick Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is great for a quick lunch -especially if you're using fresh tomatoes from the garden! I was a bit skeptical about the ketchup/mayo mixture but gave it a try anyway. It wan't bad, but I think I'll stick to my old stand by of just a simple slathering of light mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Yum! I really enjoyed this, it is nice & light. I used fresh raw spinich, & added thinly sliced red onion. Next time I will add more hot sauce as well. This sauce would be great on a BLT as well. Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
DELICIOUS sauce- very original and interesting. It's a healthy sandwich that's easy to make and is very palatable. It's so good I plan on having it everyday for lunch this week. In fact, I had multiplied the recipe for the sauce by 4 and stored it in a container. By the way, a little more hot sauce is needed to spice and take it "up another notch."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I've never been able to stomach fresh tomatoes until now! This recipe is great and tastes wonderfully fresh. I added a slice of cheddar cheese and it rocked my socks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good... like a BLT, minus the B. I used spinach leaves instead of lettuce, like another reviewer. I'm pretty lax in getting my veggies, so I took advantage of this. updated: I substituted the lettuce/spinach for cucumber slices and added extra hot sauce and pepper. Also used celery salt instead of regular salt, to go for sort of a "Bloody Mary" sandwich. I liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was a great midnight snack just now. Had it on white bread, and was feeling ultra-lazy so skipped the lettuce. My extremely dumbed-down version was STILL good enough for 4 stars, and I'm sure it will be even better the way it's written, so 5 it gets. :) Also, I see much experimentation with this tasty sauce in my future.. will go great on an endless array of sandwiches, such as in a grilled cheese or a roast beef wrap, or maybe even as a dipping sauce for shrimp. I dunno, gonna play with it. Thanks a mill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I used french bread which I had leftover in place of the wheat bread. Instead of using the ketchup, I used a small amount of thousand island dressing mixed with the hot sauce. If you like a "kick" with the hot sauce, use the amount in the recipe. Next time I will use less. I also added turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This sandwich was surprisingly good. I did add a slice of mild cheddar cheese. Thank you for the recipe idea, Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scorpio's Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Delicious! I just finished having this for lunch. It was so easy to make and tasted great. I used spinach because I didn't have any lettuce. Thanks for the great sandwich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This sandwich has a really nice tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States