Quick Texas Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is truly good, especially considering how simple it is. It sounded weird at first, but try it! I used 2 cups frozen corn instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This was great and its SOOO easy to make (my personal favorite kind of recipes!)! Although we love ranch beans, there was none available so I used a can of northern beans instead. Also, it was a little too thick, so I added a SMALL can of V8 "spicy& hot" juice to the stew. Turned out great. Mild kick but great taste. I sprinkled a little cheddar cheese over my bowl to melt but the stew was great as is!! Would make again! Thanks for the EASY recipe Sam!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This was a fast and friendly recipe for sure! With some cooked ground beef it becomes a meal using all canned goods, a perfect 20-minute dinner. I added tomato soup instead of minestrone and added a can of kidney beans as well to stretch it a little further. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is awesome, and SUPER simple! I was skeptical at first, but the flavors melded quite nicely. My mothers been asking for the recipe for a couple of months now, but I still haven't given it to her. I'm actually a little embarrased at the simplicity of this recipe, and that's a good thing! Ver good! My picky husband loves it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was very good - will make it again. As others suggested added chili powder and cumin to suit. Also added some chopped green pepper and onion. We froze what we didn't use for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Wow, I haven't thought of this recipe in a long time. I used to make it when my boys were young & we were short on time. I was surprised that Target didn't have the Ranch Style Chili Beans so I had to use Aldis brand of Chili Beans. I also subbed Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes and some chopped up Roasted Hatch green chilies (that I had in the freezer) for the Rotel. Added in about 3 heaping T of my homemade habanero salsa (we like things spicy). This recipe is very easy to make with things in the pantry. I just had to pick up the soup. I did drain the corn (to rid some of the sodium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
easy, fast, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Pretty good! I added 28 oz. of diced tomatoes, some chipolte salsa and seasonings like crused red pepper, garlic salt and ground pepper. I served it with cheese on top and corn bread. I also used ground turkey. I will make this again for a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
My family enjoyed this meal. I added some chili powder and cumin to the mix to suit our tastes a bit. I served it with cheese biscuits. My husband asked for seconds:) It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States