Quick Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We eat a lot of taco salads during the winter months because they are warm and filling. I don’t think you can mess up a taco salad no matter what recipe you use. They all have the same basic ingredients and it really comes down to personal taste as to what you add and subtract. In an effort to clean out the fridge, I added pinto beans and green peppers to the meat and used up a bag of fresh spinach by mixing it with the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I love having 'assemble your own taco salads' for dinner! It puts less work on me trying to remember who likes what, and I find that my little guy (or any kids for that matter) will eat more if he makes it the way he wants it. Super simple and fun! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used a homemade taco seasoning mix and V-8 instead of water in the taco meat and homemade salsa and reduced fat sour cream for the salad. This was great for us because each of us could make our salad the way we want it and it's a nice change up from your typical taco night. I made mexican rice and refried beans to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The original recipe for this came out in the 70's, I believe, and I think it was published by the folks who introduced Catalina salad dressing - the dressing the original recipe calls for using. It is delicious on it! Also, French and 1000 Island. And the original recipe also uses a can of drained kidney beans. We like black beans or Ranch style. Such a great recipe! I never buy taco seasoning...usually just add what I have on hand, garlic powder, cumin, chili powder, all the things in taco seasoning anyway - and less expensive. You can also add salsa to the meat after it is browned. Doing that with tacos also helps your meat to bind together and not fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Love taco salad (and I just HAPPEN to have a LOT of taco seasoning right now). LOL - I have young ones too and it is nice when they actually like the meal! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boltsbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Ahhh, someone after my own heart! Have done this since I moved away from home four decades ago with leftovers from Build Your Own Taco meals. Many who I serve to don't like taco seasoning so opt to use plain ground meat instead. Besides ground beef or chicken try pork because it's tasty too. And simply 'must' add diced avocado that has been tossed in lemon or lime juice and some fresh chopped cilantro to the ingredient list too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this for its ease and taste! The Ground Round restaurant used to make one just like this and serve it in a giant edible shell.Wonder if I can find a recipe for those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Found your recipe sometime ago and after scaling it down to 2, DH and I loved the ease of prepping a simple but very tastey weekend meal. When the grand kids (10, 12 & 16) were here enjoying a taco supper (with all your trimmings!) they had several taco shells break and then piled what was left of the tortilla with more trimmings and we haven't looked back for another taco night. This does it all. Super delicious and everyone gets to do it themselves. Great for me and fun for the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We have done this so many times. I include chopped avocado and black beans. You can use re-fried beans. Often I use it when we have company here. They are so easy, so filling. We call it Macho Taco or Haystack... It is also very popular at church potluck. EVERYONE loves it. What's so nice about this one is that they can assemble their own meal. Side dish would be Mexican Rice and tortilla and/or corn chips with salsa/sour cream dip. You can crunch the chips on top of them for crunchy meal. Try it and you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Isn't it funny, every thing old is new again. I set this out for my children,now close to 50, and we had fun. It was usually when we were running from baseball,softball,and orthodontist all in one day. Ah the memories! ALWAYS MAKE HAPPY MEMORIES, when you get to my age you can sure use them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's All Good!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States