Quick Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used a homemade taco seasoning mix and V-8 instead of water in the taco meat and homemade salsa and reduced fat sour cream for the salad. This was great for us because each of us could make our salad the way we want it and it's a nice change up from your typical taco night. I made mexican rice and refried beans to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Ahhh, someone after my own heart! Have done this since I moved away from home four decades ago with leftovers from Build Your Own Taco meals. Many who I serve to don't like taco seasoning so opt to use plain ground meat instead. Besides ground beef or chicken try pork because it's tasty too. And simply 'must' add diced avocado that has been tossed in lemon or lime juice and some fresh chopped cilantro to the ingredient list too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I love having 'assemble your own taco salads' for dinner! It puts less work on me trying to remember who likes what, and I find that my little guy (or any kids for that matter) will eat more if he makes it the way he wants it. Super simple and fun! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I have been making this for many years now, but instead of using corn chips, I make taco shell bowls out of burrito sized flour tortillas and serve it with taco sauce on the side like a salad dressing. Just use oven safe small bowls (soup size works best), invert them on a cookie sheet (only 4 will fit each sheet), spray them very lightly with oil and place a tortilla over each bowl. Bake at 350 degrees for about 8 - 10 minutes. Let cool for about 2 minutes then remove the shell from the bowl and continue to cool a few more minutes on a rack. The tortillas will take on the shape of the inverted bowl while baking. They are light and crispy and I think taste much better than corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious! Tried it tonight, and I love it. My wife loves it, and grown-up kids and their families love it, too. I had forgotten all about this recipe over the years. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this for its ease and taste! The Ground Round restaurant used to make one just like this and serve it in a giant edible shell.Wonder if I can find a recipe for those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The taste is fantastic. I use low sodium taco seasoning, unsalted chips and half the black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful build it like you like it dinner. I made this for just us, but it would be easy to scale for a large crowd and great for a party food. As it is it's the perfect summer night dinner when you don't want to heat up the kitchen cooking a lot and don't want a heavy hot meal. I used tortilla chips and didn't have shredded cheese so I just used a can of condensed spicy cheese soup heated up. I did top my salad with some homemade guacamole as well. This is easy to customize to what you have on hand and suit to personal preferences. Great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Love taco salad (and I just HAPPEN to have a LOT of taco seasoning right now). LOL - I have young ones too and it is nice when they actually like the meal! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boltsbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The original recipe for this came out in the 70's, I believe, and I think it was published by the folks who introduced Catalina salad dressing - the dressing the original recipe calls for using. It is delicious on it! Also, French and 1000 Island. And the original recipe also uses a can of drained kidney beans. We like black beans or Ranch style. Such a great recipe! I never buy taco seasoning...usually just add what I have on hand, garlic powder, cumin, chili powder, all the things in taco seasoning anyway - and less expensive. You can also add salsa to the meat after it is browned. Doing that with tacos also helps your meat to bind together and not fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States