Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! It's fast, easy, and tastes great with stir fried meat & veggies. Try adding peanuts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I think this recipe needs a fair review. See, taste buds on your tongue vary from person to person, which means that what may taste good to some people may not taste good to others. You should think of all of these recipes on this site as base recipes, recipes you can tweak so that you like it. Going forward, for those of you complaining that the sauce is too sweet, here is how I made my sauce : Keep the seeds in the peppers for the sauce, they add heat. Cut the sugar down to 2 tbs. And there you have it, it's a szechwan sauce that my taste buds enjoy. Keep it mind that doesn't mean that yours will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
As per suggestions, I reduced the amount of sugar. I used dried chili flakes,as I had no fresh. Nice amount of heat without overpowering the food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is excellent. Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp. of powdered like someone else did and cut the sugar to 2 tbsp. Had 3 nice and hot dried thai peppers and broke them to let the seeds out and get lots of heat. We made a stir fry from B.E. 3 pepper stir fry and thinly sliced sirloin that I had marinating in the sauce. Excellent. Thank You for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIBHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good! I took a couple liberties as well by adding soy sauce and eliminating the sugar altogether (my wife is on a diet and wouldn't eat it that way). After having it, I would not want to add the sugar - it was superb as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this. I added oyster sauce instead of ketchup. It was a nice change to my stir fry..Will certainly use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
scaled this down and used it to make the hot and sour cabbage soup recipe from this site. I didn't have any fresh peppers but I did a quick soak method for some dried red chiles and it worked perfectly. A great recipe because I had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
excellent recipe, changed a little. I didn't have ketchup so I used tomato sauce, used less sugar and dried spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
My family and I love this recipe! It is really easy to make and it works great with the yakisoba noodles from costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Both my boyfriend and I loved this recipe! I changed things a bit to fit my tastes however. Instead of the two chili peppers I seeded on hearty Serano pepper and then added 1.5 tsp of red pepper flakes. I then added 1 tbs of soy sauce and slightly cut down the sugar. Both of us were pleasently surpised by this recipe. I am sure I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super simple spaghetti sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States