Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
For a person that can't really cook well, I found this extremely easy and it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I can't vouch for the authenticity of the taste (I'm not too familiar with what Szechwan is supposed to taste like) but I really liked this! I did do a couple of things differently--I used apple cider vinegar, cut the sugar to 3 tbsp, and used 2 tsp of dried red pepper, 3 tsp of dried ginger and added 2 tbsp of soy sauce and a pinch of cayenne pepper. It was sweet and also had a bit of a kick to it at the same time. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is awesome! I've been using it for over a year and this is the only sauce i'll use when I make stir fry. I used to hate stir fry because I only used the store bought sauces but now I'm happy to make this because it's sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
We like this sauce as long as we have the ingredients and we can't get to the store rigth away! Really helps with variety for your rice dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I liked the recipe for what it is... quick and easy :) I liked the comments that suggested going easy on the sugar and adding soy sauce, that definitely helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
We have used this several times and each time are delighted w/ the outcome. We use dried red crushed peppers with good results It is a great guide to play from. Why buy bottled sauce when you can put this together so quickly? If we want it a little thicker, we simply use a little corn starch. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was tasty and very easy to make. I followed another reviewer's advice and reduced the sugar to about 2-3 tbsp. I also used cayenne pepper powder in place of chile peppers. I decided to double the batch and use brown sugar, extra ginger, and extra garlic. This is a great, easy recipe to make to fit your tastes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Can't speak to authenticity - but worked great in a pinch. Thank you! Used dried red pepper flakes as that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
We love this with the following modifications: 1. We swap out one of the T of olive oil for sesame oil. 2. We substitute rice vinegar for white vinegar. 3. We swap out one T ketchup for Sriracha hot chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I needed a quick recipe for dinner and had already started it when I realized I no longer had my Chinese cookbook. I came across this recipe. My husband thought it was "delicious and fantastic" and he's the one that matters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States