Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Tasted more like a sweet and sour sauce even though I added 1 T less sugar than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I used this as a marinade for some chicken I had cubed. I drained and saved the sauce, then I stir fried the chicken and some snow peas, carrots, onion, bell pepper, and frozen green peas. I added the sauce back in to the wok and simmered for a couple of minutes for food safety, and thickened with some corn starch. I enjoyed it very much. Not as spicy as I thought it would be. I used fresno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I have tried this recipe and I really like it. I used powdered red pepper and ginger in place of the dried and fresh stuff. I must tell you this recipe sure adds a kick! Whew!!! I also added some ingredients like dried parsley and diced tomato along with some diced green peppers, onions and garlic. Here's my picture. I cooked chicken, beef and shrimp in the sauce over a bed of white rice and broccoli spears on the side. Hope you try this recipe, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
reduced the sugar by half and added a bit of soya sauce. Also used dried chilis but since they didnt make it spicy enough, I just added a tablspoon of Siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBexx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great sauce for sauteed veggies and any meat/mushrooms. I added 2 Tbsp of soy sauce which added the perfect blend of salt to sweet, as well as a heaping tbsp of corn starch so the sauce thickens as it boils. Since I didn't have dried red chilies I used a tbsp of Rooster Sauce for a nice bit of heat. Just saute your meat and veggies, add some cooked rice noodles, and then add this sauce at the end and boil for a couple minutes and you've got a quick, healthy, delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this sauce! We like it hot, but it's good with mild peppers, too. And it's still good if you leave out the ginger for not-liking-ginger friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Although I didn't have fresh of all ingredients, I did substitute dry and the taste was wonderful. This is a great recipe for those of us who can't have soy. So happy I found it. A definite addition to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I doubled this recipe and added to stir fried chicken, peppers, and cooked rice. I also only put in half of the sugar, and it was still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this! So quick and easy but so delicious! the only change I made was using red pepper flakes instead of the red chile peppers as that's what I had on hand. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm used to soy sauce-based sauces for stir frys but this was a nice change. I used peanut oil instead of olive oil and red pepper flakes instead of the chile peppers. I'll use less sugar next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States