Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I think this recipe needs a fair review. See, taste buds on your tongue vary from person to person, which means that what may taste good to some people may not taste good to others. You should think of all of these recipes on this site as base recipes, recipes you can tweak so that you like it. Going forward, for those of you complaining that the sauce is too sweet, here is how I made my sauce : Keep the seeds in the peppers for the sauce, they add heat. Cut the sugar down to 2 tbs. And there you have it, it's a szechwan sauce that my taste buds enjoy. Keep it mind that doesn't mean that yours will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I tried this on the 'spur of the moment' and didn't have any fresh pepper so I used 1 tsp of dried crushed red pepper. (Remember 1 Tbsp fresh = 1 tsp dried) Though doubtful at first I was pleasantly surprised. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I am only giving 4 stars because I tweaked this quite a bit, and there aren't very specific directions. It was extremely easy and quick, and my boys (ages 4, 6, and 32) all loved it! I added 1T soy, 2T oyster sauce, and subbed some prepared dijon-style mustard for the peppers. (I had it on hand and didn't want the sauce too spicy.) Because I used frozen veggies, I added between 1 and 2T cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Very happy with the results from this very basic recipe. Can't vouch for the authenticity of the taste, but definitely a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Simple enough to modify for ingredients you have on hand (ex. 3 tbsp red crushed chilies, 1 tsp ginger powder, 1 clove crushed garlic) and to change (ex. 3 tbsp of sugar) depending on your family's taste. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is excellent. Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp. of powdered like someone else did and cut the sugar to 2 tbsp. Had 3 nice and hot dried thai peppers and broke them to let the seeds out and get lots of heat. We made a stir fry from B.E. 3 pepper stir fry and thinly sliced sirloin that I had marinating in the sauce. Excellent. Thank You for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIBHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was a nice sweet and spicy sauce to add to a mixture of veggies and chicken. Even my 4 children loved it. I used cayenne pepper (1/2 tsp.) instead of chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I am very sorry. I absolutely did not like this. Nor did my family. To me it was waaaaaay too sweet. Lacked the fire and flavor I associate with Szechwan. Just b/c my family and I did not like it doesnt mean the rest of you shouldn't try it. you may like it even tho it is really very sweet. It was like a glorified ketchup (shrugs). Sorry. If you enjoy it that is all that matters anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Didn't taste a thing like Szechwan, but it was alright, and my husband liked it! I used 1 tbsp sesame oil instead of 3 tbsp olive oil and added 1 tbsp soy sauce because the flavors were too shallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I liked this recipe. I did find it a little too sweet and not enough spicy. Next time I will add a little less sugar and more peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
excellent recipe, changed a little. I didn't have ketchup so I used tomato sauce, used less sugar and dried spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States