Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I use this icing on a cake I found here on Allrecipes called "Poke Cake I", OMGoodness it is awesome! I'll try your sunshine cake with your icing next time. But this icing is freaking awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made it several times exactly as written. Last night I substituted the oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. I also poked holes in the hot cake and topped it with cream of coconut. When the cake was cooled, I used the pineapple, whipped cream, and cheesecake pudding on top. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
awesome cake!! A nice switch is to make a powdered sugar frosting using orange juice. It adds a wonderful citrus flavor to compliment the mandarin oranges. I often add juice to powdered sugar to make some wonderful frostings. The juice blends that come in a carton are perfect for this.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Light, fluffy, amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
???Yum, best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Wallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I enjoy this cake as is but it doesn't have an orange flavor at all. I've tweaked it to make it more appealing to my family and friends when I now make it. I use a few less tablespoons of oil and add one more can of mandarin oranges (without the juice) to the cake. My oven at 325 degrees only takes about 30-35 mins to bake, so I would be careful about bake time. Also, with the topping, I only use whipped cream and mandarin oranges. With these changes this cake is delicious...a great summertime treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaAshPash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delish!!! I substituted apple sauce for the oil so it was even more fruity and healthy. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very yummy, I added 1 cup graham wafer crumbs to my icing,, really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This cake is my favorite! I use instant cheesecake pudding and 8oz. coolwhip instead of 16oz. I refridgerate the can of pineapple before making the frosting. I mix the pineapple together with the pudding mix first and then fold in the coolwhip. Also have a cake pan that has a high plastic dome lid for storing in the refridgerater. I also cut the mandarin orange segments in-halves to distribute more pieces into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have made this in a 9x13 pan and as a layer cake; either way people are crazy about it! The topping is so good, you will want to eat it from the bowl; it's like a pineapple fluff, not really frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States