Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very easy, but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have always known this as a Mandarin Orange Cake. I only used an 8oz Cool Whip, which was perfect. I used french vanilla pudding and about half the crushed pineapple in the frosting. If you let this set in the fridge overnight, it will be the moist, wet cake that I believe some reviewers are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Thanks Darlene, we all loved this recipe. It was the perfect birthday cake - not too sweet and not too creamy. I used a low fat aerosolized whipped cream as we don't have frozen whipped topping in Australia. Betty Crocker's vanilla cake mix is the perfect base for this delectable cream cake. I made 2 separate round cakes which I sandwiched together with some of the frosting, the cake is very moist so next time I will grease and line the cake tins. I topped the cake with toasted coconut flakes and then the bottom of the frosted sides was garnished with chopped dried mango for a nice colour contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Ambrosial and Ethereal are the words to describe this cake. Followed recipe but added the zest of one orange and 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier. Baked at 325F beautifully and came out nice and flat. Frosting is divine and is what makes this cake pure perfection. Followed tip of another reviewer and mixed the crushed pineapple and juice with the vanilla pudding mix before folding in the Cool Whip (used lite). NOTE: Recipe states the large (16 oz.) tub of Cool Whip but unless you have a VERY deep 9x13 pan this would be waaaaaayyyy toooo much Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I'm not usually a cake mix fan, but this one caught my eye. Very tasty, almost tropical. I used real whipped cream instead of the frozen topping called for. Pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Great cake-even better after it's been refrigerated for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Wonderful, light, fruity cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was so good. Very light and moist. Took it to work and it was almost all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harold, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Wonderful and easy cake to make. I used an orange cake mix and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very good recipe. I made this for a diabetic, so I used a low carb cake mix by Duncan Hines. Also, I had some leftover fresh mandarins so I carefully peeled & segmented them. I used about 1 cup fresh pieces. I omitted the pineapple. The oranges were soft and blended right in. My fiance remarked, "This tastes just like a twinke!" Thanks for the great recipe, Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States