Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a lovely cake and one that I am proud to have made. :-) I can see why it was suggested as a good cake for a baby shower.. the frosting is soooo heavenly. I did make my frosting with real whipping cream as I don't care for cool whip whipped topping... and I didn't add any sugar just the pudding mix and the pineapple with it's juice and it was plenty sweet. I too found that the cake refrigerates well.. it's quite tasty today.. the day after the party. Mine was not dry at all, but I kept a very careful eye on it and did not rely only on the timer to know it was done. Oh and I was feeling anxious as I was putting all the pineapple and the juice into the bowl with my whipped cream til I realized that the pudding mix would absorb the juice just fine and that the recommendation to make the frosting and refrigerate it for awhile to let it set up was a very good idea. So, I did that and frosted the cake just before serving it. It was a big hit. I know that I can make this cake anytime and my family and friends will happily eat it up. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this cake. Its moist and full of flavor. Great cake for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this for a church potluck. So good I should have made 2. I baked the cake in 2 9in. round cake pans and made a beautiful 2 layer cake. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Super Easy and super good. A winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Really good cake. I didn't have any vanilla pudding so I used banana pudding which was what I had in my pantry and it turned out to be the perfect flavor to compliment the oranges and pineapple. Like other reviewers, I used a small tub of cool whip and I still had a little left over. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very easy, but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have always known this as a Mandarin Orange Cake. I only used an 8oz Cool Whip, which was perfect. I used french vanilla pudding and about half the crushed pineapple in the frosting. If you let this set in the fridge overnight, it will be the moist, wet cake that I believe some reviewers are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Thanks Darlene, we all loved this recipe. It was the perfect birthday cake - not too sweet and not too creamy. I used a low fat aerosolized whipped cream as we don't have frozen whipped topping in Australia. Betty Crocker's vanilla cake mix is the perfect base for this delectable cream cake. I made 2 separate round cakes which I sandwiched together with some of the frosting, the cake is very moist so next time I will grease and line the cake tins. I topped the cake with toasted coconut flakes and then the bottom of the frosted sides was garnished with chopped dried mango for a nice colour contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Ambrosial and Ethereal are the words to describe this cake. Followed recipe but added the zest of one orange and 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier. Baked at 325F beautifully and came out nice and flat. Frosting is divine and is what makes this cake pure perfection. Followed tip of another reviewer and mixed the crushed pineapple and juice with the vanilla pudding mix before folding in the Cool Whip (used lite). NOTE: Recipe states the large (16 oz.) tub of Cool Whip but unless you have a VERY deep 9x13 pan this would be waaaaaayyyy toooo much Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I'm not usually a cake mix fan, but this one caught my eye. Very tasty, almost tropical. I used real whipped cream instead of the frozen topping called for. Pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States