Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I enjoy this cake as is but it doesn't have an orange flavor at all. I've tweaked it to make it more appealing to my family and friends when I now make it. I use a few less tablespoons of oil and add one more can of mandarin oranges (without the juice) to the cake. My oven at 325 degrees only takes about 30-35 mins to bake, so I would be careful about bake time. Also, with the topping, I only use whipped cream and mandarin oranges. With these changes this cake is delicious...a great summertime treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaAshPash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delish!!! I substituted apple sauce for the oil so it was even more fruity and healthy. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very yummy, I added 1 cup graham wafer crumbs to my icing,, really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This cake is my favorite! I use instant cheesecake pudding and 8oz. coolwhip instead of 16oz. I refridgerate the can of pineapple before making the frosting. I mix the pineapple together with the pudding mix first and then fold in the coolwhip. Also have a cake pan that has a high plastic dome lid for storing in the refridgerater. I also cut the mandarin orange segments in-halves to distribute more pieces into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have made this in a 9x13 pan and as a layer cake; either way people are crazy about it! The topping is so good, you will want to eat it from the bowl; it's like a pineapple fluff, not really frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe! We call call it "Pig Lickin Good Cake" as in lick your fingers good! Great for potlucks and works well using sugar-free ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Freakin Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My mom used to make this cake when we were growing up. I would always request it for my birthdays and have tons of memories of taking a slice to school packed in my lunch. My 9 y/o asked for it for her birthday today and I am hoping we can start this tradition for her too. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is my all time favorite cake. It is so moist, but it is light and overly sweet. I hate traditional frosting and will wipe it off, but this one will have you going back for more. Hands down the best cake recipe ever! My mom has added toasted coconut to the frosting a few times, but other than that no alterations are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My husband loves moist cake and this worked out perfectly!! I made a few adjustments though. I used mixed fruit instead of mandarine oranges in the cake mix and I added half the package of vanilla pudding to the cake mix and a 1/4 cup of water plus the oil and eggs. Then baked as stated in recipe. for the frosting I used 8 oz of cool whip and the other half of a package of vanilla pudding mix plus the pineapple. As previously stated you have to let the frosting set in the fridge first. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimme
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States