Quick Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Sorry but I did care for this recipe at all. I stopped making it after I tried the filling and before wasting the tomatoes. It was bland and too soggy. Will use tomatoes for something else but I wasted the ingredients for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
my brother doubted it would taste good but it ended up tasting great, it tastes good without the mint also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I do a variation on this: saute garlic and onion in olive oil and white wine. I add peas to the couscous, with lots of basil and lemon. I love this, and it's deceptively simple. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I thought it was delicious but, despite how much I love tomatoes, next time I make it I would not put in all the pulp. The dish has enough tomatoe flavor already. To make the flavor balance out more I ate it with some lentil soup. The plain, sweet flavor of the soup contrasted the sour of the tomato. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aften
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Overall I thought this came out really good. I added some kalamata olives to the couscous and omitted the mint. I stuffed the tomatoes and put them on the grill. Before grilling them I added more mozzarella to the top so there was nice melted cheese top. It was great. Next time, I might add some garlic or something. It felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
The only change I made was adding a bit of cilantro. My boyfriend is vegetarian, but I am not, so finding a recipe that we can both really enjoy is a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Like three earlier reviewers, I thought the filling was great but would skip the tomatoes entirely. Incidentally, I had a lot of extra filling -- this would've probably filled eight tomatoes. (This doesn't matter to me as I'll skip the tomatoes in the future.) Filling: Since some reviewers suggested adding nuts, instead of plain couscous I used Near East brand toasted pine nut couscous mix. For lack of ingredients, I used goat cheese instead of mozzarella. This turned out fine in small quantities. Since I'm not that great a cheese fan, I may skip it entirely next time. I also left out the mint. I'm glad I didn't leave out the basil -- I felt it added a lot to the recipe. Tomatoes: The tomatoes don't acquire the spicing of the couscous and end up dragging down the dish with their blandness. In addition, they made the couscous soggy -yes, I drained the tomatoes as the recipe suggested-, making the couscous less pleasant to eat. If, however, you insist on using the tomatoes, I suggest you cut them in half horizontally. I made the mistake of cutting a small hole in the top, and emptyed the insides and filled the tomato through that hole. This was bad because as the tomatoes expanded during baking, the skin wrinkled and shrunk, causing some tomatoes to split. (One of my uploaded pictures shows this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These were really really good! It was my first time trying couscous and the tomato made it nice and moist. The couscous mixture itself was a bit salty but once the tomato juices were stirred in it was fine although I might try using low sodium broth next time. Overall: Really Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was okay but I'd make the orzo and forget stuffing it into a tomato. I added roasted red peppers, fresh cilantro, parmesan, pine nuts, and garlic powder to the recipe. The tomato didn't really do anything except provide for a nice presentation. I roasted it with the top on which gave it visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RI_Irish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA
Living In: Saunderstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe, based on my own taste preferences, and loved it! i left out the mint, i substituted a crumbly cheese (feta, bleu, or gorgonzola) for the mozzerella, and I added a quarter cup of pine nuts. Delicious! The tomato itself had very little flavor, but the stuffing was wonderful. It was pretty simple to make, also. I made it as an appetizer, and it really could have been a meal in itself. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States