Quick Spinach-Ricotta Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I didn't find this recipe to be quick, but it was easy. They mini-calzones make a great appetizer and can even be used for dinner. I found 16 minutes cooking time to be too long (burned a batch), so make sure you keep your eye on them. Overall it turned out to be a great recipe for some extra ricotta I had on-hand, and I plan to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
My boyfriend & I made this recipe a week or so ago, and it was great. The dinner rolls work great as a casing! I made it again yesterday, only I used broccoli (chopped up & sauteed with the onions) and pepperoni, and I added more salt & pepper and put in a little rosemary as well. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I saueteed diced mushrooms and red peppers along with the onion - and used crescent rolls (2 triangles per pocket). This was a fun recipe although not quick. I baked them for 10 minutes at the recommended temperature and received good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe was OK. I doubled the ricotta and should have halfed the spinach..it was overkill and needed more cheese. I only cooked them for 10 minutes and the bottoms burned. Next time I'd reduce the cooking temp. to 350 and only cook for 10 minutes or so. I'd make again but do the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I was able to freeze 1/2 of the calzones for another dinner. I did use pizza dough instead of dinner rolls..much easier. I also added some italian sausage to hide the spinach taste for DH. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
These were not quick, but they were fairly easy. I really liked them; my fiance was not a huge fan of the crust. I followed someone else's suggestion to cook them at 350, but I think this was a little too low as they never really browned. Next time I would try 375 or 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was a great and quick way to make calzones. My daughter is a Vegetarian and this was a great recipe for her. I will make it next time and make half vegetarian and my husband wants some italian sausage added. This is a very versitile way to make what every one wants ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These are just "okay". They take a long time to make and don't really have much flavour. The filling is pretty bland. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I, personally, did not like the "bread". Next time I will make a pizza dough and do this "right" as the taste did not correspond with the effort. With that said, I love the filling. I added sausage to this and it was amazing. It makes a ton so we have saved the filling (in the freezer) to be used in the future - the "right" way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Really good. I added sausage and zucchini to mine, and I just made two large calzones for my husband and me for dinner. They were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States