Quick Spinach-Ricotta Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
You can defeat the packaged taste of canned dinner rolls and frozen spinach by mixing up the filling. We threw in some ground meat, red pepper flakes, basil, fun cheeses, etc. Really whatever's on hand because it's a pretty versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Made my own dough by hand (used Pizza Dough I recipe, actually) and made two large calzones out of this. I added about 1/4 c of italian tomato sauce to give some more flavor to the filling but left everything the same otherwise. REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Time consuming but good. I added some browned italian sausage to half of them because my husband doesn't consider it a meal if there is no meat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
My husband really liked them. I used pizza dough because I had it made already and they turned out fine. I used a little bit more cheese b/c I wanted to finish it off, but he said he would have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The filling was great. The rolls didn't work out so well. Next time I'll take the trouble to make fresh dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These are just "okay". They take a long time to make and don't really have much flavour. The filling is pretty bland. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I saueteed diced mushrooms and red peppers along with the onion - and used crescent rolls (2 triangles per pocket). This was a fun recipe although not quick. I baked them for 10 minutes at the recommended temperature and received good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
These were not quick, but they were fairly easy. I really liked them; my fiance was not a huge fan of the crust. I followed someone else's suggestion to cook them at 350, but I think this was a little too low as they never really browned. Next time I would try 375 or 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
My boyfriend & I made this recipe a week or so ago, and it was great. The dinner rolls work great as a casing! I made it again yesterday, only I used broccoli (chopped up & sauteed with the onions) and pepperoni, and I added more salt & pepper and put in a little rosemary as well. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe was OK. I doubled the ricotta and should have halfed the spinach..it was overkill and needed more cheese. I only cooked them for 10 minutes and the bottoms burned. Next time I'd reduce the cooking temp. to 350 and only cook for 10 minutes or so. I'd make again but do the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States