Quick Spinach-Ricotta Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very good, it took a while but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The first words out of my husband's mouth, "this is delicious!" Within minutes he was ready for another serving. I used thin crust pizza dough and will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv26.2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Good calzone recipe for this beginner! This recipe was my intro to making calzone, and I have made it 4-5x. Like several other reviewers, I made my own pizza dough, mainly to save money and have simpler ingredients; once I commit to making it-it's easy. Made enough dough for two pizzas, to be sure to have enough for all the delicious filling in this recipe. The nutmeg is great in it; subtle but there. Have made them the mini-size in this recipe and also larger. Had a little problem with overly thick crust and overfilling; nothing to do with this recipe but watch for that if you are new to calzones. Big hit with friends and family! So tasty we didn't even bother dipping them in marinara sauce most of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I'm at odds with this recipe. I searched high and low for 11.3 oz canned rolls, but came up empty. I settled for a 10 oz can and bought two. Try as I might, the biggest circles I could roll with those things was 5". Even then they were very thin. I could only use a rounded tablespoon of the filling in each one. These were very tasty, but I have more than half the filling leftover after using one can of the rolls. I'm planning to use the other can to make 10 more, but I'll probably still have filling after that. I can't imagine that 8 rolls from an 11.3 oz can could possibly hold all of the filling. These do taste good, but if I make them again I'll make a pizza dough for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I, personally, did not like the "bread". Next time I will make a pizza dough and do this "right" as the taste did not correspond with the effort. With that said, I love the filling. I added sausage to this and it was amazing. It makes a ton so we have saved the filling (in the freezer) to be used in the future - the "right" way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Really good. I added sausage and zucchini to mine, and I just made two large calzones for my husband and me for dinner. They were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was a great and quick way to make calzones. My daughter is a Vegetarian and this was a great recipe for her. I will make it next time and make half vegetarian and my husband wants some italian sausage added. This is a very versitile way to make what every one wants ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I was able to freeze 1/2 of the calzones for another dinner. I did use pizza dough instead of dinner rolls..much easier. I also added some italian sausage to hide the spinach taste for DH. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Great dish to prepare ahead of time. The filling was very green so I doubled the ricotta and added extra mozzarella. I used croissant dinner rolls which made the crust light and flaky. 16 min. was a bit too long for the fresh calzones but worked for the fronzen ones the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
DH and I made this recipe together and we did not have success with it. The dinner roles tasted more like the corn meal than pastries and the filling was not as cheesy as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States