Quick Spicy Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
One confusing thing about this recipe. In the ingredients, it calls for 1 can of tomato soup, but in the instructions, it says "...1/2 can condensed cream of tomato soup." I wasn't going to throw away half a can of soup, so I added it all. I only had 3 cups of chicken stock left, so that's what I used. PLEASE consider the "1 tsp of hot pepper sauce" optional. We're probably middle of the road on spiciness, and the can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies made this plenty spicy enough for us. Could be because I was 1 cup short on the chix broth, so the soup was more concentrated, but just taste before adding the hot sauce. We didn't ladle our soup over broken tortilla chips in the bowl, but served them on the side. We like this and will make again, and for anybody watching his/her diet, this breaks down pretty well nutritionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I did add some fresh minced garlic. Because I did not have diced tomatoes with green peppers, I used one can diced tomatoes and one half 4 ounce can diced mild green chilies. For me, I think there was a little too much chicken broth. Next time, I'd cut it from half and go from there. Good idea, though. I think it would be a good base for tortilla or taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Very good soup and easy to make - Used the whole can of soup per other reviewer suggestions - added extra garlic - I used yellow bell pepper because that is what I had - will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I have been making this for a couple years now, and decided I needed to review it. I don't know why it hasn't gotten more reviews. It is simple to make with easily found ingredients and tastes great with some crushed tortilla chips and cheese sprinkled on top. Great as a first course for a Mexican meal. Don't omit the hot sauce - it gives it a terrific, flavorful kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It was good, but nothing too exciting. I also added diced celery. I ended up adding two cans of condensed tomato soup since I didn't think it had enough tomato taste. It was quick and easy and filling. Good served with panini sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This soup had a lot of flavor! It also took little prep time. I threw all my ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook over night. I used the whol can of tomato soup as other reviewers suggested (this gave it a very tomato-ey taste). I also added some italian seasoning, chili powder, oregano, and onion powder to give it more flavor. The servings were very large, making this more of an entree than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
love this soup! I also added the full can of tomato soup. Its quick, easy and goes well with a grilled sammich on the side! great on nights I dont have alot of time to cook and I must feed my brood of kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I'd give it three stars for taste, but it does make a fast spicy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is a phenomenal recipe. I don't usually have recipes where I can open cans and dump, but you can get this ready in thirty minutes and the kids love it. Perfect for a football game. I like to use diced tomatoes with Jalepeno instead of the stewed tomatoes if you can find them. I also add a can of Trappey's Navy beans with Jalepeno and 1/2 bag of frozen shoepeg corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
We used the whole can of tomato soup. I added fresh garlic and some extra green chilis. But it was delicious. My husband says we will have to put this on the list of regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States