Quick Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great and very easy! It tasted very similar to a good bottled spaghetti sauce, but I didnt have to go to the store and buy it since I keep all of these ingredients on hand all the time. I used it in the "Pasta Lasagna" recipe. It was a huge hit. My 6 year old daughter ate 3 (small) plates full, and it's rare that I can get her to eat more than 2 or 3 bites at dinner time. She actually asked if she could have a third plate of this instead of a piece of the Valentine's day ice cream cake I brought home. That was shocking. I was really surprised at how easy this was too. I used the exact amount of seasoning and all other ingredients just as the recipe is written, and I am not sure why others leave the bell pepper out (unless they just didn't have any), because that gives it a great flavor. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was very quick, easy, and good! I didn't do the peppers, added more garlic and some salt, just our preferences. Also, I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole, skipping the blender step. I usually make the kind of spaghetti sauce that you let simmer for a few hours, but was pressed for time and tried this, and I'm glad I did. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made this sauce last night and was really pleased with the results. I left out the green pepper(hubby doesn't care for them) and I also added some salt and a touch of sugar. My 8 year old said it was the best spaghetti sauce he ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Super delicious! I changed a couple things because I wanted to make more to put in the freezer. I doubled the garlic, tomatoes, chicken broth, and tomato paste. I also added about 2 tbsp of garlic salt to the 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef I cooked. Along with 1 tsp of ground oregano. Simple and quick recipe! My husband and toddler loved it, and asked for me to make the homemade stuff from now on instead of the store-bought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
We like a little chunkier sauce so I use diced tomates w/ basil...also, I use Vegetable broth or stock in place of the chicken stock...Mushrooms are also a good add, as well as a little grated carrot for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I've never made sauce this way, and this recipe wasn't quite as fast to the table as I was looking for (hungry toddler). With a few changes, I got it to the table within about 15 minutes. I sauted the garlic and onion (I was out of green peppers), then I added a can of Muir Glen crushed tomatoes with basil. I added some parsley and oregano, heated it up, and that was it. It got an "mmmm" from my 22-month-old. I decided to skip the chicken broth and tomato paste because I wanted the fresh taste of the Muir Glen tomatoes to be front and center, and I didn't want to spend an extra 20 minutes making the sauce. This is a good after work recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
It was really great. Fast and the fam loved it. Plus I usually have all the ingredients around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was easy to make and had a great taste. I usually keep a can of prepared spaghetti sauce on the pantry shelf for those nights when I want a quick meal. Because I was out of that, I found this recipe, and liked the taste much better. I followed the recipe as written, except I only used 1/2 a bell pepper since my husband doesn't like a strong green-pepper taste. I would recommend adding a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was good with additional tweaks: 1/2 t. hot pepper flakes, 1 T. sugar, 1 t. salt and some drying-up shredded Parmesan. Served it cooked onto al dente angel hair pasta and it was good! Looking forward to tasting it tomorrow 'cause I'm sure it'll be even better! I prefer the fresher taste of this sauce to any cooked, canned or jarred sauce. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Not impressed...made as written and was very bland and not very "tomatoey". I questioned the cup of chicken both and I think that may have diluted some of the flavor. Had to do some serious doctoring to get it to be edible. Sorry, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States