Quick Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This sauce was very good and a hit with my husband and 2 boys. It rivals my favorite local rest. sauce that I just love! Thanks for the recipe. I didn;t use green peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
add sugar, garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne. Just for the extra kick. simmered on low for an additional 20 min. was great for quick. The next day it taste even better. made it again and added everything above and a bay leaf. Simmered for an hour and put mushrooms, chicken and italian sausage meat mix in it. Was very good. If you don't like it so thick add a small can of tomato sauce along with the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. Everyone enjoyed the bell peppers in the sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Here is where my wife and I differ. I love heavy on the tomato, sauces and she likes light on the tomato though she does love tomatoes...figure that out. We cooked this together. we used a red pepper because we had one in the garden and we only used 1 tablespoon of seasoning because 2 TBLS just seemed like too much. My wife insisted on adding sugar to cut some of the acid in the tomatoes and we used all of the tomato paste. This was a great sauce.We both loved it and will make it again. We used it in our eggplant Parmesan recipe and it was perfect. I'm sure this recipe is just as good without our modifications. We will have this again. Kicks any jar pasta off the shelf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Used what I had in the pantry - stewed tomatoes, red bell pepper for green. Cut back on the Italian seasoning, personal taste. Husband & son ate it up!!! Will make for now on instead of serving jar sauce. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aviano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
great, just added brown sugar, and used zesty dry italian seasoning...was wonderful ...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I had a little trouble with my stove and the medium high setting, because my peppers/onions were almost blackened after 5 minutes. I went along and added the garlic, tomatoes (I used petite cut Del Monte) and some Italian seasoning I had blended up on my own. Noticed recipe skipped the seasoning altogether. Modifications: added 3 tsp white sugar, about 1/8-1/4 c ketchup and a few dashes of s and p. The results were awesome, if not just the tiniest hint bitter. Perhaps it's just my palate, but I tasted it about 9 times, each with that end note of bitterness. Enjoyed with Sriracha hot sauce all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent! No changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon R Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe was a lifesaver! I usually do buy the store bought sauce in a jar, but I had all of the ingredients and decided to try homemade. This recipe is wonderful! My boyfriend went back for seconds...and then thirds! I was so glad that this was the recipe that I picked and made no changes. Next time though I will try to use fresh tomato's as the canned tomato's still have entirely to much sugar and sodium in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Thought this recipe was good - very easy. It's one I will make again - I followed the recipe exactly except I used stewed tomotoes (it's what I had on hand) but would probably use crushed or diced next time - also added some marinated mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States