Quick Shrimp Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a very easy meal to prepare and delicious. The only thing I do different is sub the sesame oil with evoo. Just a personal preference. Good directions. You can also make this with any meat of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very good recipe! Thanks for submitting it. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I found the sauce "as-is" was too bland for us--I had to add more oyster sauce and soy sauce to give it flavor, so next time I will just use a little less water and reduce the cornstarch accordingly. I didn't have shrimp, so I used leftover pork chops cut into bite-sized chunks. We also left out the bell pepper (just a preference) and added some cut baby carrots for color and flavor. Delicious! I doubled the recipe for our family of 8, and it made generous portions, so everyone was satisfied, but there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
It is quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I followed everthing except made with Chicken and subbed water for chicken stock. Really Great! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this without shrimp as I was looking to make a veggie lo mein that didn't call for hoison or fish sauce. This was really good except that I eyeballed the oyster sauce and added too much. I cut some of the water and used a little rice vinegar and it was a nice addition. Skipped the cabbage as I didn't have any and added shredded carrot. Will make again! (and properly measure the oyster sauce so it doesn't come out so strong).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very good and simple. I like this better with thicker noodles so I use linguine. Put a shaker of red pepper on the table for those who like theirs more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I really liked this recipie, i added hoision sauce and sugar per another recipe, prepared it with green onion, yellow onion, garlic, sugar snap peas and mushrooms. very satisfying and filling. there was nothing I didn't like, but something a little off, could have been the things I added. (reading the other reviews, i added more oyster sauce) the flavors all fade into one another, i think red pepper or some kind of hot sauce would have been a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
had veggies in the fridge to use up so I decided to make a stirfry. The sauce to this one sounded good so I decided to give it a try. I used tofu instead of shrimp and bean sprouts instead of snap peas. The amount of cornstarch called for was too much in comparison to the amount of liquid. The sauce immediately seized up when it hit the hot pan. I had to add another 1/2 cup or so of water to loosen it back up again. This watered down the flavor a little but it was still tasty. I will make this again but adjust the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Rather involved but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Fantastic Lo Mein! Tried it for lunch today and my wife and I loved it. I used thicker spaghetti noodles instead of the angel hair and I couldn't get oyster sauce at the local, small-town grocery store so I made it without and it was great. This recipe is quick and easy and the result is yummy and perfectly proportioned. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States