Quick Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Mmm, mmm, mmm... I left out the miso paste and added 1/2 tsp of sesame oil. It made a huge difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were good. The recipe didn't say anything about cooking the garlic--4 raw minced cloves would have been too much for me--so I sauteed the garlic in a little bit of oil, mixed in the rest of the ingredients and let it simmer before adding the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
The recipe is probably great if you follow the directions. It is very important to use low-sodium soy sauce like it states. I had regular soy sauce on hand, and the only miso paste I found in the store had added sea salt (I don't know if this is typical). The result was so salty that I couldn't finish it. It was even too much for my boyfriend, who puts salt on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am not a very good cook and I prepared this with frozen green beans and steamed until boiled dry.This was the most delicious side dish .I couldn't believe I prepared it myself.I am also serving this with the Aussie Chicken for my daughters rehearsal dinner.Follow steps and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Miso paste is sold in a little tub, in the cold section of the grocery store, where tofu or health food is found. The miso paste gives the sauce some body and helps with coating the beans. Four cloves of garlic is way too much. I used two, and thought it was more than enough. A good recipe and a nice change for the normal green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a last-minute decision and I didn't have fresh green beans, so I just used canned. (blush) Heated them on the stovetop. In separate pan, toasted the sesame seeds; set aside. Used same pan to saute garlic in a tiny bit of olive oil & an even tinier touch of sesame oil. In separate bowl, mixed soy sauce, red pepper flakes, sauteed garlic, freshly grated ginger and poured over drained green beans. Added toasted sesame seeds in just before serving. It was a nice side dish for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Delicious! I didn't have ginger and it was just fine. Also, I used sesame oil instead of miso (again since I didn't have it in the house) and they turned out great. Of course, the more garlic, the better. Thanks for posting - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really enjoyed this simple recipe. Tasted great with a bar-b-cued tri-tip (beef). Quick, just make sauce before hand...do the beans at last minute when serving your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I really like this recipe. I agree, 4 cloves of garlic is a lot even though I like garlic a lot. I would like to try it with cooked garlic but didn't this time. I also added a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Nice and easy recipe. Be sure to use the low sodium soy sauce as regular is much too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States