Quick Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I'm not big on fresh green beans, but if they are served like this, I'll eat them any time. These were fantastic. Just enough flavoring. I fed this to my 2 year old niece and she ate it up like candy. She even asked for seconds. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes for her sake, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Wow! I was also looking for a recipe like I get at my favourite Chinese restaraunt. These were great. I tried suteeing the garlic once, but found it didn't quite pack the same punch. My dad will make dinner for us, but asks me to do the sauce for the green beans. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Miso paste is sold in a little tub, in the cold section of the grocery store, where tofu or health food is found. The miso paste gives the sauce some body and helps with coating the beans. Four cloves of garlic is way too much. I used two, and thought it was more than enough. A good recipe and a nice change for the normal green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Seems like all my wife ever wants is canned green beans. So one night I served this and she loved it! If you are looking for something different from the same old beans try this! Good luck trying to find the miso though. Takes great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mjstrain56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a last-minute decision and I didn't have fresh green beans, so I just used canned. (blush) Heated them on the stovetop. In separate pan, toasted the sesame seeds; set aside. Used same pan to saute garlic in a tiny bit of olive oil & an even tinier touch of sesame oil. In separate bowl, mixed soy sauce, red pepper flakes, sauteed garlic, freshly grated ginger and poured over drained green beans. Added toasted sesame seeds in just before serving. It was a nice side dish for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good tip about cooking the garlic. Nice flavor. Didn't have miso paste and used regular soy sauce. Would make again. Dresses up greenbeans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Murphy Koller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Yummy! It was too spicey for the kids but the adults like it. Next time I will not add as much red pepper so everyone can enjoy it. Unfortunately my grocery store unfortunately did not have miso paste. Next time I will be sure to find it somewhere. Great addition to the Grilled Salmon I from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I couldn't find miso paste so made without it. These were delicious. My family loves garlic and ginger, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
The recipe is probably great if you follow the directions. It is very important to use low-sodium soy sauce like it states. I had regular soy sauce on hand, and the only miso paste I found in the store had added sea salt (I don't know if this is typical). The result was so salty that I couldn't finish it. It was even too much for my boyfriend, who puts salt on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I really like this recipe. I agree, 4 cloves of garlic is a lot even though I like garlic a lot. I would like to try it with cooked garlic but didn't this time. I also added a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States