Quick Savory Cranberry Glazed Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very tasty pork roast. I found the time/temp a little off. Pork should be cooked to 140-145 degrees and then set aside to rest for 15 minutes; the internal temp will go up and the juices will seep throughout the meat. A foolproof rule of thumb to use is 15 minutes per pound @ 350 degrees. In my experience, cooking to an internal temp of 160 or above usually results in unpleasantly dry meat. For succulence, give my suggestion a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
FIVE STARS FOR FLAVOR w a MINT TWIST. Thought the sauce would be too "gunky sweet" with all that sugar from jam & cranberry sauce, it wasn't. All said it was yummy AND from my point of view, the quickest roast I ever made (fully thawed) but it's not walk away time. I was busy making gravy & ladling every 10 min. Originally I only had 1/2C of apple jelly & used 1/2C of Mint Jelly w flecks of mint, to make up for it. It was a DELIGHTFULLY HAPPY ACCIDENT & lent a subtle undertone of mint. Next time I will use solely mint to replace the apple jelly. I had at least 1 Cup of sauce, not used for basting & put it in a saucepan, added at least three cups of chicken broth (stirring some of it with 3T of Corn starch) & it was a wonderful lighter gravy & there was plenty of it. Entire dinner was served w steamed fresh carrots & fresh green beans & (canned)baby pototoes (my best quick assistant in the kitchen) IT WAS ALL PERFECT! We added an addtional splash of English mint sauce on our potatoes(not jam-I'll have to upload a recipe for it:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mills Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Wow, was this delicious! We followed the recipe exactly and it was not only very easy (the only thing that could be considered possibly "difficult" is reglazing every 10 minutes - I did it every 12-15 minutes) but absolutely scrumptious. The whole house smelled great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This sauce is a perfect complement to the savory pork roast. The blend of cranberry, sweetness of the apple jelly play off the salty boullion and spirited horseradish. The thyme cannot be left out. It makes this a super special sauce. My family begs for extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was an great recipe. My room mate is in culinary school so we are always trying new things. I found this online and had to try it. The only thing I changed was Cranberry Jelly instead of canned cranberries, in hopes that it would be more jelly like, and it was delicious. We will for sure be making this again. Served it with mashed potatoes and a gravy made from a little of the sauce and chicken stock. VERY GOOD! I'd recommend this too anyone who is looking for a good homemade dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovesme27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Savory is an accurate descriptor for this recipe. Loved by all. Will make again. Followed the directions with the exception of the oven temperature which was lowered to 350 degrees. Used a thermometer, as always, to make sure the roast was done. Will maybe raise the horseradish amount a tad, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill jr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really great recipe. I did cut the cut the garlic powder back to 1 tsp. as I didn't want the garlic to overpower the other flavours. Very nice tasting sauce. The roast was turned out very tender and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! What an unusual combination of ingredients. I must admit I was a little leery of this recipe, but I love cranberry sauce and it was worth a try. First, I pan seared the roast. I then prepared the sauce with all the ingredients listed and brought to a boil. Finally, placed roast and sauce in my slow cooker and let it cook for 5 hours. WOW, the sauce was the perfect consistency and so tangy. A must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was such a great recipe. Very easy to prepare. I didn't have any thyme, so I left it out and even my pickiest son went back for seconds. I also used jellied cranberry sauce as I didn't have any whole berry on hand. I can't wait to make it again. Next time, with thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is one of those recipes that looked like you spent hours preparing it, but, in reality it is SO E-Z and quite fast (mine was done in a bit less then 45min.). My gang loved it. Next time I may double the sauce since most of it evaporated during cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States