Quick Sausage and Bell Pepper Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
it was a little greasy as far as I was concerned and it caused the bread to get soggy. BUT! I can say it could be my fault due to the type of sauce I used. I think I'll try something a little different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
turned out great! I used pizza dough instead, and flame-roasted my peppers beforehand on my gas burner. Just like a fried pepper and sausage sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were pretty good. We used refrigerated thin crust pizza dough. I took a little longer than I was supposed to with other stuff, so I did this strombolli style which was a time saver. I think next time I would use normal or thick crust refrigerated dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made my own dough which turned out great but when it came to stuffing the calzones it sort of all fell apart. But the tase was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
After reading the other reviews, I was surprised when my biscuits rolled out so easily. Used 1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage, 1/2 lb pepperoni, and 1 green bell pepper (same as the recipe for the rest), and the results were overstuffed. Be careful not to bake too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe. I don't use the refrigerated rolls, though. I make pizza dough with my Breadmaker. I use ground sausage from my local meat counter. While the bread is getting ready to go, I do all my chopping, cooking, and preparing. Usually I make these on Saturday or Sunday when having a day to unwind with my hubby. I divide the dough as if I am making lots of small pizzas. Roll it out into a circle, stuff with the ingredients as this recipe states and pop into the oven. It takes a little practice, but I found that if I make them too big or over stuff them they don't come out as well. I like best to use Basil Marinara warmed for the top when they come out of the oven. I prepare extra to put in the freezer for those days when you can't think of what you want to eat. My kids are boring, so I stuff theirs with the cheese mixture and chopped pepperoni. This way we all win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very easy, and if you make the filling ahead of time, relatively quick. I used turkey sausage links and pepperoni since I didn't have enough sausage. I made the filling the night before and stuffed them today. I used crescent rolls and although it took me a bit of time to put them together, I figured out the best way is to use 2 of the crescent rolls to make a rectangle, then top with another two and seal the edges. Worked perfectly. 16 minutes was perhaps a little too long with the crescent rolls, as they were a bit browner than perhaps I'd like, but still good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These were really good! My husband loved them. I used Pillsbury pizza dough from a can and it worked great. Next time I'll buy 2 cans of dough because we had some filling left over. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Pretty good but not outstanding, in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States