Quick Sausage and Bell Pepper Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe is great, but it is certainly not quick. The filling is no problem, but rolling the dinner rolls is a pain. I will make again but try it using refrigerated pizza crust and making 4 large calzones. (Note: the recipe as stated makes 8 small calzones -- we had two each.) They were a big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
These were AWESOME! Flavor was wonderful. I used refrigerated pizza crust as recommended by Skipper and it was super easy to work with. This is definetly a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
You can't go wrong with this great little appetizer. We had a "calzone making" get together Saturday night for our daughters' upcoming birthday party. We decided to use deli pepper ham instead of the sausage. Because it's a party, we went all out and deep fried. A bit time consuming, but if you've got friends helping, it's a snap. Yum and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These were really good and fairly easy (a bit time consuming becuase I made 30 of them in one sitting). I couldn't find refridgerated rolls, so I used frozen instead and it worked great. I ended up cooking up about 15 and then freezing the rest. They will be a couple of really great dinners when I am pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were delicious! I will make them again. I used pizza dough instead of rolls and I think I will continue to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These were time consuming, but worth the time spent. They were very flavorful. I will try pizza crust next time and see how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Yummy. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
The taste is really wonderful, but be aware that it's really quite time consuming and tedious to roll out the dinner rolls into 7" rounds. So be sure to plan ahead for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These calzones were great!!!,a little time consuming.....but well worth the wait!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
450 degrees was WAY too high for my oven, and besides prep time, recipe was yummy and versatile - tonight I'm trying with sausage and pepperoni and a little rigotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States