Quick Sausage and Bell Pepper Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I, personally, did not like the "bread". Will make a pizza dough next time and do it "right" because this was more effort than the taste provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Delicious and so easy with refrigerated pizza crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
The filling in this is great and I had enough left over to just mix it with pasta. The rolling and creating of the calzones was totally beyond me - mine came out like blobs, but they tasted good! I think next time I'll use the recipe for the Pampered Chef braid and use this filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My husband and kids loved it!!! We use the recipe for pizza dough in allrecipe.com for the dough. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These were really good, made exactly by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made these for a dinner group of 8. I doubled the filling and used frozen rolls for the crust (I thawed them and used two rolls to make one calzone). These were definitely not quick, though. I have a lot of time in the evenings, so I assembled the calzones over the course of a couple of days (made the filling one day and refrigerated overnight, stuffed the calzones the next, baked on the third). I served them with a green salad and jarred spaghetti sauce. Even though it was time consuming, the finished product got rave reviews. I would probably make again, but enlist some help in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
NOTE: This recipe is definitely an APPETIZER. It tastes good, but takes a long time. Rolling out the dough was a bit difficult and next time we'll use pizza dough or bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe with a few minor modifications. I used Pillsbury Pizza Dough. I wanted to make small ones, so I cut out 5 inch circles and was able to get 6 or 7 from each roll of dough. I scaled the recipe to make 12 servings and was able to use almost all of the filling. I used red and green pepper since I didn’t have a yellow one. For the sausage, I used half sweet Italian and half sweet Italian chicken sausage/ I brushed the tops with an egg wash and sprinkled with Parmesan Cheese before baking. These were really delicious! I also made Spinach and Ricotta Calzones from this site and served with warm spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandgate, Vermont, USA
Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
450 degrees was WAY too high for my oven, and besides prep time, recipe was yummy and versatile - tonight I'm trying with sausage and pepperoni and a little rigotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These calzones were great!!!,a little time consuming.....but well worth the wait!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States