Quick Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very easy to make! I didn't add the veggies and had them on the side. The chicken was a little dry and I'll wait for the rice to cook a little more before adding the chicken. I took other's advice and only put in 1 tsp of pepper. We also thought that 1 Tbsp of the herb spice blend was too much - we had green stuff in our teeth. But overall I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was delicious! I was looking for a great chicken & rice recipe & found it here...so moist, too. I did modify it to suit my family's taste, however: I did omit the hot sauce & next time I will also leave out the pepper...it was too hot & spicy. Also, I substituted a carton of chicken broth for the bouillion cubes (I personally don't use them because of the MSG.) Because of the amount of broth, I didn't need to add the water. Also, used just one bag of vegetables & that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Fast and easy to prepare! I like this receipt a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This reminded me of chicken soup gone wrong where all the broth had evaporated. It is a one timer recipe for us. I did cut back to a quarter tsp of black pepper as recommended and instead of the hot pepper sauce, I used a couple dashes of cayenne which made it peppery enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe. I will use this again. I did omit the bay leaf. As my "salt free spice" I used Italian seasoning. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I'm really glad I read the other reviews before starting and only used 1/4 tsp pepper, because even with that this was getting pretty hot. Very very good, tho! I put in peas, carrots and onions with a scrambled egg. Excellent, easy recipe! My chicken came out a little chewy, but all in all tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I should have read the other reviews before making this. Beware--there is way TOO MUCH PEPPER. I have no problem with spicy foods, but the flavor of the pepper was overwhelming--it's all you can taste. I will probably try this again, but cut the pepper by at least half or maybe entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
We didn't care for this very much. Sorry! I'm not sure why, but the flavors just did not seem to work together. I LOVE black pepper; it's among my favorite spices. This, to me, is what made this even possible to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
GREAT. I added lima beans with veg.I scrambled an egg and added to the rice,It was a big hit with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Very quick and easy recipe! I used my own spices and chicken drippings instead of boullion. It smelled great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States