Quick Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I'm sure it's just a difference of taste as this recipe has received great reviews, but my family wasn't fond of sauerkraut (they'd never had it before).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kikacesca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I see that at least one reviewer couldn't find Bob Evans brand mashed potatoes so tried to substitute dry potato flakes. The Bob Evans potatoes are already prepared, all you have to do is heat them up, so of course the recipe won't turn out if you just use potato flakes. You could either substitute 24 ounces of homemade mashed potatoes, or 24 ounces of another brand of pre-made mashed potatoes (I know Country Crock sells them in a little tub where the rest of the refrigerated foods are). Or you could try to cook up 24 ounces of potato flakes (so that the flakes plus milk, water and butter equal 24 ounces- not just 24 ounces of flakes, that would be way too much), then proceed with this recipe by adding the small amount of milk, egg and other ingredients. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was a good basic recipe. It was hard to find the potatoes so I used hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was great, we loved it! I might use a little more meat next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I also did not have the required mash potatoes on hand, but i did use the potatoe o'brien (the pre diced ones.) i left the eggs out(dont like eggs and left the milk out)pretty much did everything else the same. I layered potatoes on bottom i mixed up a dijon mustard spread that next and then a layer of cheese a layer of cut up reuben, layer of kraut and started over again layering. Then finished with cheese. Baked as directed and oh my god, it was delish, i plan on making it this way again. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Well, since I didn't use Bob Evans mashed potatoes, this recipe did not turn out very good. Bob Evans brand mashed potatoes weren't available at my grocery store so I had to use another brand. Therefore, it was too dry.. I added the ingredients listed to the potatoes I had and it just didn't work. I cooked it anyway and it turned out pretty bad, so I boiled the amount of water/milk specified on the brand of potatoes I did get and then added all the ingredients together. My boyfriend and I felt that it didn't have enough meat/saurkraut to taste like a reuben.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassafras76
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was not only yummy--I won a trophy for it! "Best Classic Hotdish". I followed the advice of other cooks and doubled the meat. Also--try adding rye bread croutons on the top, and serve with a side of Russian dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassafras76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and absolutely delicious! Harps and Guiness compliment it well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make and tasted great as well. I actually like the mashed potato in this one as opposed to the bread in some of the other ones. The only thing I did was add a little extra corn beef, otherwise I made it exactly the way it says and it turned out FANTASTIC. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Really tasty. I loved it just the way it was. However, my husband would've preferred a little more corned beef. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States