Quick Pour Fondant Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I must say I am very disappointed with this recipe. It was so clear that you could see the cake underneath, even with coloring added. I would not recommend doing this, but instead using marshmallow or roll-out fondant. It may be more time consuming but the results will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is the farthest from fondant icing. It RUINED my cake. When I poured it on like it said, it made me cake look like a candle just melted on it. Not smooth. And when i tried to smooth it out, it just fell off. If your looking for a smooth icing, this is NOT the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The suggested temp is way too low. I also had to add more water to get a even mixture. It was more of a thick glaze then fondant. I would not use as a glaze though, just tasted like powered sugar, I will keep on searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was difficult to make and very disapointing. Wont try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Shelley
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is not for cakes definetely. It totally ruined my cake. I think that pouring the mix on top of iced cake does not work. It got bumpy and when I tried to fix it with the spatula, the surface moved so it turned into a big mess. For cup cakes, maybe. For cakes, I don't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This recipe worked really well for me. I read some of the reviews that said they had a hard time coloring it, and since we needed it BLACK, I subbed out a full ounce of the water for black food coloring. It was probably a touch of overkill, but it was black as night. I made it twice, and learned that the fondant doesn't change consistency very much when it gets to the appropriate temperature. It just takes less drying time the longer and hotter it is cooked. The first batch I heated until it boiled, and had to cool to an appropriate temperature, and it hardened almost on contact. The second batch I cooked about 15 degrees higher than the recipe stated, and it stayed tacky longer. It was much easier to smooth and a lot less stressful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Recipe works great. the procedure needs to be changed. I had stunning results, but I had to adjust the way I prepared the fondant. Heat the water, syrup and flavor to 110 or 125. Put liquid in Mixing bowl and slowly add the sugar, you may need more or less depending on the humidity. If the fondant starts to get too cool it will thicken. Have a water bath on the stove or crock pot to warm the cooling fondant. Any of the spills, drips can be reheated this way too. Just scrape it back into a heat safe bowl and place over the water bath until you have the consistency you want. *For more flavor and color add a little "kool-aid" powder before adding powdered sugar to heated liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Used this on one of the yellow cake recipes from here. The temperature is the key to getting it just right. I liked the smooth shiny tops it made on my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Too sweet and transparent. I went above the recommended temperature by accident. That is very easy to do so start on low! That may be why it was transparent as another reviewer mentioned, but I do not know for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States