Quick Pour Chocolate Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used dark chocolate & it turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Willis
Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Did not taste like chocolate and was not smooth but chalky texture. I used a instant read thermometer with an alarm so I know the moment it got it to temp. Will be deleted from my my list. Used a chocolate mirror glaze perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this recipe the first time and it came out ok. I thought about it and read the other reviews and made it again with a couple of changes and it came out PERFECT! I cooked the sugar/water/corn syrup mixture over low like it says, I stirred it CONSTANTLY until it reached 110 degrees. The second change I made was I melted my chocolate BEFORE I added it to the sugar mixture and I reduced the almond extract to 3/4 tsp. I then stirred the mixture until it cooled slightly to the consistancy I wanted to pour. These changes gave me a smooth and shiny finished product that went over my tiny cakes beautifully. When I use it on things bigger than petits fours I will first give my cakes a crumb coating of buttercream frosting. This gives the fondant a smoother and prettier finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a great chocolate frosting - very easy and nice to pour over a double-layer cake. It's very sweet, but also very delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I love this recipe if you make sure to not overcook the chocolate, or it loses the shine a bit. Overall though, if you just get it to a pourable consistency it works out just fine. Can be a little hard to spread evenly though so try to pour over flat even surfaces and lay down a layer of frosting first to help even out the fondant and help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I found this to be a great recipe for covering a cake maybe, but for petit fours, I had to add some milk to it to thin it out a bit. I didn't find it thin enough to pour over petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the chocolate doesn't ever melt so that it's uniformly brown, but rather white with brown speckles. Tastes fine, but I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I use this recipe for petit fours and it works really well to coat the sides. The first time I made it I was careful with the temperature but now I just stir it until it gets to be the right consistency. It works just fine if you overheat it by a little bit but it won't dry with the same shine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This works pretty well. I found that by waiting for the fondant to cool down a bit before pouring help with consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I'm actually wavering between three and four stars for this recipe. I used a candy thermometer and was shocked at how far over 92 degrees I had to heat this fondant up. Eventually though, it seemed ready and I used it to pour over my son's cake. It looked fine until I noticed that a lot of it was clear with fine granules of chocolate in it, which gave the appearance, at first glance, of opacity. Ultimately, I figured nobody was going to be examining the fondant that closely, so I didn't toss out the fondant or my cake. The consistency and pourability was just great. When I tasted it, though, I felt that there may have been some undissolved granules... I can't be sure, though, since I used some colored sugars on the cake also. I'm not the most skilled at recipes like this, so the shortcomings in my success may be my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States