Quick Pour Chocolate Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have tried this recipe but it does not work..the fondant was thick but when i pour it on the cake it start to fall from sides...it does not stands on the cake and does not form a layer :/..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used dark chocolate & it turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Willis
Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Did not taste like chocolate and was not smooth but chalky texture. I used a instant read thermometer with an alarm so I know the moment it got it to temp. Will be deleted from my my list. Used a chocolate mirror glaze perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this recipe the first time and it came out ok. I thought about it and read the other reviews and made it again with a couple of changes and it came out PERFECT! I cooked the sugar/water/corn syrup mixture over low like it says, I stirred it CONSTANTLY until it reached 110 degrees. The second change I made was I melted my chocolate BEFORE I added it to the sugar mixture and I reduced the almond extract to 3/4 tsp. I then stirred the mixture until it cooled slightly to the consistancy I wanted to pour. These changes gave me a smooth and shiny finished product that went over my tiny cakes beautifully. When I use it on things bigger than petits fours I will first give my cakes a crumb coating of buttercream frosting. This gives the fondant a smoother and prettier finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a great chocolate frosting - very easy and nice to pour over a double-layer cake. It's very sweet, but also very delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I love this recipe if you make sure to not overcook the chocolate, or it loses the shine a bit. Overall though, if you just get it to a pourable consistency it works out just fine. Can be a little hard to spread evenly though so try to pour over flat even surfaces and lay down a layer of frosting first to help even out the fondant and help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I found this to be a great recipe for covering a cake maybe, but for petit fours, I had to add some milk to it to thin it out a bit. I didn't find it thin enough to pour over petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the chocolate doesn't ever melt so that it's uniformly brown, but rather white with brown speckles. Tastes fine, but I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I use this recipe for petit fours and it works really well to coat the sides. The first time I made it I was careful with the temperature but now I just stir it until it gets to be the right consistency. It works just fine if you overheat it by a little bit but it won't dry with the same shine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This works pretty well. I found that by waiting for the fondant to cool down a bit before pouring help with consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States