Quick Pour Chocolate Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have tried this recipe but it does not work..the fondant was thick but when i pour it on the cake it start to fall from sides...it does not stands on the cake and does not form a layer :/..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used dark chocolate & it turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Willis
Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Did not taste like chocolate and was not smooth but chalky texture. I used a instant read thermometer with an alarm so I know the moment it got it to temp. Will be deleted from my my list. Used a chocolate mirror glaze perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this recipe the first time and it came out ok. I thought about it and read the other reviews and made it again with a couple of changes and it came out PERFECT! I cooked the sugar/water/corn syrup mixture over low like it says, I stirred it CONSTANTLY until it reached 110 degrees. The second change I made was I melted my chocolate BEFORE I added it to the sugar mixture and I reduced the almond extract to 3/4 tsp. I then stirred the mixture until it cooled slightly to the consistancy I wanted to pour. These changes gave me a smooth and shiny finished product that went over my tiny cakes beautifully. When I use it on things bigger than petits fours I will first give my cakes a crumb coating of buttercream frosting. This gives the fondant a smoother and prettier finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a great chocolate frosting - very easy and nice to pour over a double-layer cake. It's very sweet, but also very delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I love this recipe if you make sure to not overcook the chocolate, or it loses the shine a bit. Overall though, if you just get it to a pourable consistency it works out just fine. Can be a little hard to spread evenly though so try to pour over flat even surfaces and lay down a layer of frosting first to help even out the fondant and help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I found this to be a great recipe for covering a cake maybe, but for petit fours, I had to add some milk to it to thin it out a bit. I didn't find it thin enough to pour over petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the chocolate doesn't ever melt so that it's uniformly brown, but rather white with brown speckles. Tastes fine, but I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I use this recipe for petit fours and it works really well to coat the sides. The first time I made it I was careful with the temperature but now I just stir it until it gets to be the right consistency. It works just fine if you overheat it by a little bit but it won't dry with the same shine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This works pretty well. I found that by waiting for the fondant to cool down a bit before pouring help with consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States