Quick Pot Sticker Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I found this very bland so I added 1/2 tsp fresh ground ginger and 2 tbsp soya sauce. I didn't have a pkge of frozen vegies so I used 1 can whole baby corn cut into pieces, 1 can sliced mushrooms, 1 can slivered bamboo shoots, and 1 can sliced water chesnuts. It makes a big dutch oven-sized pot, so if you plan on leftovers I would suggest doubling the amount of potstickers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe for a nice warm asian style soup. We use chicken and vegetable potstickers. Yum!! edited to say... We eat this often and decided to change it up a bit and added some frozen shrimp to the soup and it turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My girlfriends and I hold a monthly cooking club in which we rotate the hosting. This was my month and I decided to go with an asian-themed dinner. I used this soup as my entree -- what a hit! It was so quick and easy I was able to entertain my guests and prepare this sound without messing it up at all! I substituted the regular chicken broth for low soduim chick broth since the recipe calls for sesame oil and salt. I also used pork and veggie steamed dumplings instead of just veggie dumplings for a little variety. My boyfriend can be a picky eater and he absolutely loved this! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I found this recipe while searching for something to do with a bag of chicken/veggie potstickers that had gotten stuck together on the ride home in the car and refrozen - and used it to unstick them. While the broth of this soup is a little bland for my taste, I so much appreciate the quick idea and base for a fun and tasty soup. You can add anything you want to it, use up leftover veggies in the fridge. This soup is truly ready in 15 minutes max, even if you screw around with the flavoring for a bit. I added a splash of oyster sauce, crushed red pepper and green onion, and mushrooms, carrots, water chestnuts and pea pods in place of frozen vegetables. Great idea - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
this was a good base recipe, but i added some more flavor by sauteing some fresh mushrooms with the garlic and onions, and used fresh stir fry vegetables instead of frozen (Trader Joe's has a good fresh mix) I also added a 1/3 of a bullion cube to the broth for more flavor. Also, I through the green onions in last so they'd retain their color. I served in deep bowls, and doused with a little soy sauce for extra asian flare, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eboni Ife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great starting recipe. I added some crushed red peppers, ginger, and a little soy sauce. A little bland on its own though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great soup for a quick meal! I saute fresh ginger along with the garlic and onion, and added some fish sauce to the broth. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was really good. I used what I had on hand to make 1/4th the recipe. I had to use a 14 oz can of vegetable broth plus a 14 oz can of beef broth and it still turned out great. I substituted frozen snow pea pods for the stir fry veggies and I added 1 thinly sliced cooked pork chop to the recipe. Thanks SLOcook for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This recipe was delicious, most people who gave it negative reviews changed it so much they were hardly making the same recipe anymore! Also, if you do not use sesame oil (which I love and was the main reason I made this recipe) I doubt it would come out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
this was enjoyed by all, I couldn't find a frozen strifry mix that looked good so I substituted out for fresh veges and added to the chicken broth for about 20 minutes before adding the pot stickers. Also added ginger to the onion & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli McGourty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States