Quick Polynesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Going along with the others...A great base recipe. I took the advice of another and added honey teriyaki sauce, garlic powder, pepper, coconut and raisins. I cooked three large chicken breasts (not pounded)with the mixture in a large foil pouch on 325 degrees. After 35 minutes, the breasts were still pretty raw so I turned up the hear to 385 degrees for another 15 minutes. The chicken was tender and flavorful even though it was cooking for a long time. So if you do it this way, turn up the heat to 375 for about 30 minutes. I also put the dish over orzo with fresh spinach and pine nuts mixed in and a little parmesan. Yummy, my family ate it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I'm going to rate this a three because the basic idea is a very good one. It was delicious, but I changed it a LOT. I used tropical fruit cocktail in juice (not syrup). I used chicken breasts and seasoned them with salt and a generous amount of fresh ground black pepper. Smeared them with fresh minced garlic and topped them with the fruit cocktail, teriyaki sauce and raisins. Bake them in the pouches for 35 minutes, let them rest and then topped them with coconut. Yummy. But like one reviewer said, if you have to change it that much, it's not the same recipe. It's still a great concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Pretty much what I expected; a quick and easy way to start chicken; we just had some johnny's seasoning salt on the table to eat it with, and a nice flavorful rice and some veggies. What to expect: A mild, slightly sweet chicken that takes four minutes to prepare (and how much of a blessing is that on a busy night!) with not a ton of flavor on its own...just have some spices on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't have fruit cocktail so I substituted canned sliced peaches instead. It came out delicious. Spray cooking pan before adding chicken so it won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This is a great base recipe. I took the advice from other reviews and added my own seasonings. I used a fruit medley in light fruit juice syrup (rather than fruit cocktail), and I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt/powder, chili powder, Old Bay seasoning, and Teriyaki sauce. I also covered the dish while it was baking. Overall it turned out really well. It was very tender, and I would certainly try the recipe again using different seasonings. I rated this a 3 only because it will require some experimentation with seasonings to make this recipe complete. I would certainly recommend it for a quick meal after a long day. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Such a quick and easy way to make a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
gross by itself, but i added my own teriyaki sauce which consisted of 1/3c of soy sauce, 1/3c brown sugar, a 1/3c of water and a dash of cinnamon. then added chunks of white onion and a few shakes of parsley. these ingredients marrying with the fruit cocktail while cooking was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani_jbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I agree w/ many others, the chicken does turn out pretty juicy but bland. Add more seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States