Quick Poached Salmon with Dill Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Oh my god, this is good! It's so easy, it should be illegal. I always tweak recipes, and I didn't do anything to this. And I've used the sauce on crab cakes and all sorts of stuff since. My husband and I were actually fighting the night I made it, after we started to eat, we gave each other the ", this is good stuff" look, opened another bottle of wine, and all was good.... p.s. I made it three weeks later for my french super chef extraordinaire "I only cook my salmon on a cedar plank" mother-in-law. I breezed in from work at 6pm, and had a gourmet meal on the table 20 minutes later, I could tell by her face she wanted to hate it but she couldn't, SHE LOVED IT!! Thank You!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Lloyd
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I thought this was an excellent and quick way to prepare salmon. I cut the dill mustard sauce in half as it made plenty to cover the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I made this for my fiance and another couple for a small dinner get together. WOW!! The sauce was so easy and reminded us a bit of hollandaise sauce and was wonderful. I will absolutely make it again. (I added a tad more honey than the recipe called for.) Thank you for sharing Karena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Well, gee, that'll teach me. I made the sauce first and wasn't thrilled when I tasted it. Definitely too much of a "tang" as a previous reviewer said. Then I put it ON the salmon (I baked vs. poaching) and wow, was I wrong. Definitely a great match, gave enough flavor to the salmon without overpowering and...no tang! Delicious. Will definitely add this to the repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Easy gourment - quick and tasty. Perfect for light entertainment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Can bake too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This was truly wonderful. I used the leftovers to make "salmon cakes" and the sauce was a graet replacement for tartar suace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Holy pajamas, was that delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
As everyone else has mentioned, this is unbelievably easy to make. I loved poached salmon. The shallots were still very strong in flavor, so we'll ditch those next time. Interestingly enough, I liked the sauce immediately after making it, and less after sitting while I did the rest of the cooking. I think we also pulverized the dill a little much, tasted like fresh mowed grass to me. I might use dried dill next time as I like it much better. I also thought the sauce tasted a little too sweet and lemony, so I may throw some capers in there and be careful watch the lemon next time. Served this with roasted asparagus and baked potato - dynamite how fast this all comes together. 15 min at 425 for the asparagus, 11 minutes for the salmon, 5 minutes in the microwaved, wrapped in a wet paper towel for the potatoes! Sauce on all of it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very good. I followed the recipe as calculated for ONE serving. Used red onion in place of shallots. Used dried dill (about 1 tablespoon). Very good. So moist. 10 mins was right on the money for about a 1" thick piece. At one point the small pot boiled over, so watch that you keep the flame low. Don't use too big a pot if you're not cooking much salmon because you'd have to really dilute the wine with a lot more water to cover the fish. Can't imagine why some people didn't like the sauce... it was fantastic... even with dried dill. I used Riesling wine. (Don't cook with any wine you wouldn't want to drink!) Sure beats cleaning up the grill or having dried out salmon. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States