Quick Pizza Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
These turned out really good. I followed the recipe except for using pizza sauce instead of the tomato paste...though it would be more flavorful (and I believe it was). We added pepperoni and sausages to the sandwiches. Tasted just like our regular pizza...but since they were in the crescent rolls...much better. They turn out so flaky and delicious. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I didn't get to try these b/c they were gone almost as soon as I served them. I added "pizza sliced" pepperoni. I served these with other tried and true appetizers from this site and these were one of the quickest to go (however, I assume that's partially due to the fact they don't make alot). My only complaint: I didn't like how the paste looked on top of the rolls. I might just bake without and then serve with pizza sauce as a dip alternative for my guests instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Not bad! Very quick. I used shredded mozzarella instead. Next time, I'll put in mushrooms and pepperoni, kinda like a calzone. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennilovesryan
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My daughter so LOVES this for lunch. She makes sure that I get the rolls to make them when we go grocery shopping. I use the plum tomato paste with a little sprinkle of italian seasoning and it so rocks. Also, I give it a little parm cheese too. If I'm hungry I'll mix baby bella mushrooms with a drizzle of EVOO and a clove of minced garlic in a bowl and stick it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. I use the mushrooms & garlic for the inside and coat the outside with the remaining EVOO and WOW, it's great. Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very tasty and fast. I even added spinach to it to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Delicious! I separated the 4 squares, and we added what we wanted to the tomato and oregano base - I had red onion, cheeses, fresh tomato and proscuitto; Husband had cheeses, pepperoni and jalepeno. This is a really great idea - would be excellent for kids! Thanks, Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I admit these were quite easy, much easier than rolling out dough. I can also see this *concept* as a good basis for custom building (adding pepperoni or whatever)... except that I thought they were too much dough, could hardly taste any cheese, and unfortunately could taste the tomato paste far too much. If I use a different sauce, a different cheese, etc., then really, the only thing I've taken from this recipe is the idea of using crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
It was pretty good, but seemed kind of sweet (because of the tomato paste). I also added spinach (frozen, thawed, drained). Next time I'll probably mix the paste with tabasco or use pizza sauce instead, and add some sort of thinly sliced meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very good. Used spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato paste. Be sure to use thick sauce though! The runny, thin ones aren't for me. This is easily adaptable to whatever you want to put on top! What is fun if that each family member can customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe, who wouldn't like a quick and easy pizza style meal. The Crescent dough is a bit to sweet and clashes with the pizza sauce and pepperoni. I did like the fact it was quick and easy, but due to taste, I felt this failed to wet my appetite for more. Perhaps a different dough may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States