Quick Pizza Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
quick easy and kid friendly -- will keep in my back pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This wasn't bad, but I think I'll add some more spices next time. It was a little bland. Super easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These are really good. I made them with my kids and they thought it was really fun. Ours had sauce and cheese oozing out the sides, so they weren't pretty to look at but they tasted good. I used Ragu pizza sauce in lieu of tomato paste and oregano and used shredded mozzarella and added pepperoni. This recipe is great because it tastes good and it is easy to involve the kids. The taste itself isn't necessarily five stars, but the ease and the kid-friendliness make it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe, who wouldn't like a quick and easy pizza style meal. The Crescent dough is a bit to sweet and clashes with the pizza sauce and pepperoni. I did like the fact it was quick and easy, but due to taste, I felt this failed to wet my appetite for more. Perhaps a different dough may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Cooked great. I added pepperoni and it worked well, but the tomato paste made it a bit sweet. I intend to add a tomato sauce with a milder flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was fast, easy, and pretty good tasting. I liked these pizza sandwiches much better than a certain famous stuffed pizza sandwich you buy in the frozen foods section-completely customizable and really very good with a crescent dough crust. I used pizza sauce as did some of the other reviewers and it worked out fine. The oregano was a very nice touch! Three issues I had: 1. I mis-read the instructions, when I thought I was to separate into four rectangles and add two slices of cheese to each, I did this to all four pieces...then I realized I was only supposed to do it to two of the rectangles and that the other two were supposed to go over the tops. 2. Cooking according to directions, it seemed that the dough wasn't quite done, I wound up adding another 7 minutes to get a nice golden brown. 3. I am lazy and hate scrubbing burned cheese off my cookie sheets, so I used foil-I think if you are going to do this, the foil needs a light coat of butter in case of stickage. Good little recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Kids thought these were ok, but nothing they raved about. I think the tomato paste was too strong a flavor for the crescent roll dough, pizza sauce would be much better I think. I don't think there will be a repeat of this, although I may use the idea of using the crescent roll dough to make hot meat and cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This dish is very good. I can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very fast and simple. I used bottled pizza sauce and a mixed shredded cheese and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These were "OK". They made for a quick dinner though! I was home sick and looking for something effortless to pull together for dinner. My bf came over to "check in" so I needed an "impromptu" dinner for the two of us. I can't seem to ever follow directions exactly, so I did end up changing a few things to suit my/our tastes. I added a small amount of cooked & crumbled hot pork sausage (a quarter of a lb. total) and sliced deli pepperoni (i.e. not the small pre-packaged slices) for a heartier sandwich. I also subbed jarred pizza sauce for the tomato paste and Italian seasoning (to taste) for the oregano called for. To assemble, I slathered with some sauce (eyeballed it), added a layer of cheese (2 slices per sandwich), then pepperoni (4 slices each) and finally the sausage, a dab more sauce (just a little...) and a dash of seasoning. I then covered each with a top layer of crescent dough to make two sandwiches. Served with Italian pasta salad (from a box - I was lazy!!!). My bf and I both agree that refrigerated pizza dough would be better suited to this kind of recipe (pizza dough "crisps" up better than crescent dough does - but we did enjoy the buttery taste of the crescent rolls). Our sandwiches were a bit soggy, but seemed to firm up somewhat after sittng on the pizza sheet for a while. Thanks for sharing this quick and easy recipe. This would be perfect for kids to help prepare (with some adult supervision, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States