Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Pickled jalapeno rings are one of my most favorite things. I've always wanted to learn how to make them--this recipe made it possible. I added some crushed red pepper, that was the only change I made. I did not add the jalapeno peppers to the saucepan, I went ahead and put them in the canning jar and once the vinegar mixture came to a boil, I poured it over the peppers in the jar, put a lid on it and let it sit like that for ten minutes before refrigerating. I have not used them yet as I want them to sit in the vinegar for a week or two to really get good. I'll update my review once I've had a chance to try them. Five stars for this recipe for just being awesome. I am so tickled I could make my own. VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, as is. I have made it a couple of times now, adding bite size pieces of onion and bell peppers, to fit the chips (actually, reduced fat triscuits) I use for nachos. I won't be buying the ready made jars of slice jalapenos anymore. It's couldn't be much easier. Thnx Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Super easy! I only made one slight change - I didn't have any oregano on hand, so I omitted it. It still had a great flavor! This makes 2 'jelly' sized jars full (not the tiny, squatty jars, but the small ones with decorative sides) if you use large enough jalapenos. A great 'starter' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I followed (almost) the recipe. On Chef Johns video he said that the sugar would take 95% of the heat out....so I only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I like some heat. They came out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
What an awesome recipe! I had a ton of jalapenos in my garden and I didn't know what to do with them. This recipe came up in a Google search. I love the slight sweetness they have - I will never buy store bought pickled jalapenos again... these were wonderful and so easy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Quick and easy! Also very good. I added some carrots, onions, and bell peppers I had around as well. Just doubled the recipe to account for the need for more liquid. Just don't wear gloves when handling the jalapenos if you plan on removing contact lenses from your eyes later that day. OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I doubled the recipe and threw in banana peppers and a few chili peppers to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Thank you chef John! I wanted to chime in that these tasted just like store bought banana peppers when I used long skinny sweet peppers. The best part is that these don't have yellow dye and sulfates. Do you know how hard it is to find pepper rings without that junk? Next time I make these, I will try jalapenos.The brine would also make a great base for a salad dressing. Just add some olive oil and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS!!! I made a pint 5 days ago and have been letting it sit in the refrigerator. I tried them today and WOW! I may try my hand at canning a couple jars of these yummy peppers for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I just tried this and was wondering how long to wait? I see it is stored in fridge right away, is that right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States