Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These are yummy. I increased the vingear to 3/4 cup, decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added a small sliced onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this recipe while searching for ways to use fresh beets from my garden. The beets are delicious and just different enough from my canned pickled beets that the change is refreshing. The cinnamon is perfect. I made deviled eggs out of the eggs. Very tasty, but next time I will leave any vinegar or lemon juice out of the yolk filling, as the outside has enough of that taste. The deviled eggs were quite eye-catching! Deep purple, fluffy yellow filling, green parsley sprinkled on top. But you do need to pickle them about 4 days for the eggs to "purple" all the way through to the yolk. To use fresh beets: Wash beets, leaving roots intact, and cut the tops, leaving two inches at beet. Barely cover with water, and simmer till tender. Drain. Cool, and slip the skins off the beets. Slice as desired. You will need about 1-1/2 cups sliced beets and about 1/2 cup for what would have been in a can of beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very good. The recipe says 4 hours, but by then only the outside of the egg is pickled. Wait 3-4 days if you like them purple to the core.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My husband loves pickled eggs so I gave this recipe a try - I increased the vinegar to 3/4 cup and left out the cinnamon. I added a bit of thin sliced red onion when I layered everything into a glass jar with a tight fitting lid. You really have to let these set for at least four days to get that rich deep reddish purple color all the way through to the yolk. These are always great with beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe; the only problem I found was that the recipe states they will keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks…but not in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The recipe was very easy. I don't like pickled eggs, but I made them for my husband who thought they were pretty good. I agree that they need to refrigerate for a couple of days for the color to set in more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This recipe is excellent and so easy. I never could get the exact amount of ingredients to make my eggs taste really good. The cinnamon adds a special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a terrific pickled egg recipe. I have had eggs twice since I first made this recipe (made by different people, using different recipes) and they were BLAND and tasteless. I wanted to say hey, I tried this great recipe, you should too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
These are the best I have ever eaten. My husband loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
These were really good. I did add some more vinegar (red wine) and black pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States